Biz bits

Kent Dunn , Beasley Broadcast Group's Augusta Market Manager, was named General Manager of the Year at the broadcast company's annual awards. This is the third time he has won the award.


Jana Sandarg , professor of Spanish at Augusta State University, has been recognized with a Lifetime Achievement Award by The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages.

John Marcus was the top dollar volume mortgage loan producer from First Bank Mortgage during August.

John T. Chandler has received the Top Mortgage Producer in August award from Georgia Bank & Trust.

The Gertrude Herbert Institute of Art has announced the election of five new members to the institute's board of trustees: Carrie Price Andress , of Evans, communications specialist for the Augusta Convention and Visitors Bureau; Louise Keith Claussen , of Augusta, corporate art manager for Morris Communications Co.; Mary Anne Franklin , of Augusta, community volunteer; Jennifer S. Franks , of Augusta, has served in various positions in art collecting, auction houses, and museums; and Janice Williams Whiting , of Augusta, a professor of art at Augusta State University.

The Gertrude Herbert Institute of Art board of trustees has elected the following officers for fiscal year 2009-10: Mickey Williford , Medical College of Georgia, chairman; David Clayton Carrad , lawyer, vice chairman; George A. Sancken III , president of Westover Memorial Park, treasurer; and Rosanne Stutts , artist and art professor at Augusta State University, secretary.



Your Money: Be cautious when attempting to sell timeshares

Many are looking for ways to reduce expenses. One popular option is to unload timeshares so owners can recoup... Read more

Chamber Corner

Good Deeds