Wednesday, Oct. 29, 2014

Sturgill Simpson is country guy in disguise

Nashville singer-songwriter Sturgill Simpson expected to be labeled "the acid-country guy" when he self-released his sophomore album "Metamodern Sounds in Country Music" in May 2014. Instead, ...
By Diana Renee Williams

Wednesday, Oct. 22, 2014

Shack Band will play Surrey Tavern

Richmond, Va.,-based group is promoting their first full-length CD "America."

Tuesday, Oct. 7, 2014

Shine for Scott benefit to feature more than a dozen bands

Talk About the Dark Side of the Moon! - the fifth annual Shine for Scott Benefit Concert - is set for 7 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 11, at Sky City, 1157 Broad St. Doors open at 6 p.m. Donations will be ...

Tuesday, Sept. 2, 2014

'Shut Yo Mouth' and listen to Get Right Band's varied tunes

When The Get Right Band takes the stage at at Surrey Tavern on Sept. 6, an infectious, danceable blend of funk, rock, reggae and just plain unique set of sounds will fill the room.
By Jeremy Craig

Wednesday, Aug 27, 2014

The Heavy Pets to play Sky City

The Heavy Pets will bring their blend of rhythm & blues, jazz, funk, disco and reggae with rock 'n' roll to Sky City on Thursday, Aug. 28.

Wednesday, Aug 20, 2014

White Violet brings varied style to Sky City

White Violet, a band with an eclectic sound that thrived off of Athens' renowned music scene, is coming to Augusta with a performance on Aug. 22 at Sky City. They'll be joined by fellow Athens ...
By Jeremy Craig

Tuesday, Aug 12, 2014

Gordon starts new jazz project, to play Sky City shows

One of jazz's most acclaimed trombonists is coming home to Augusta to share his passion with students as a scholar - and for the public through a live show.
By Jeremy Craig

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Brushfire Stankgrass likes to tinker with the traditional

To listen to Brushfire Stankgrass is to go down a road that begins with the banjo - and on to an uncertain destination that might wind up arriving in downbeat blues, country, or into a funk ...
By Jeremy Craig

Wednesday, June 18, 2014

Fans can hear latest by Kenny George Band

The Kenny George Band has several local dates in the coming weeks where fans can hear their newest music.
By Renee Williams

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Pretty Reckless seeks first reaction

If you want to know the meaning behind the songs Taylor Momsen writes for her band, The Pretty Reckless, don't expect her to provide much insight - especially when it comes to the group's new ...
By Alan Sculley

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Pop Rocks: Experience artistic improv with locals ABBA, Sure Eel

There is always a place for improvisation. Art, in fact, depends on it.
By Steven Uhles

Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Nightlife

Find live music at these hot spots.

Pop Rocks: Be sure to make time for Broad Street

Broad Street has become a mecca for independent businesses and is one of the best places in the city to get a sense of the real Augusta.
By Steven Uhles

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Irish pub opening downtown

O'Donovans Irish Pub is scheduled to open Friday at the corner of 10th and Broad streets.
By Jenna Martin

Tuesday, Feb. 25, 2014

Nightlife: Seven Handle Circus plays Saturday

Seven Handle Circus, a six-piece Georgia band that has been labeled "bad-ass bluegrass" with the "drive and energy of a rock band," will play at Sky City on Saturday, March 1.

Tuesday, Feb. 11, 2014

Pop Rocks: Mazes and Monsters reunite, give hope for other reunions

This week a local act I was fairly fond of - Mazes and Monsters - have decided to put its break-up on hold, performing with Adam Sams and Patrick Taylor on Friday, Feb. 21, at Sky City.
By Steven Uhles

Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2014

Zac Brown Band postpones Friday concert

Zac Brown Band postponed Friday's concert at James Brown Arena because of possible dangerous driving conditions.
By Meg Mirshak

Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2014

Pop Rocks: Squeaky's at Tip-Top of mind for reunion

Spectacularly small and delightfully disheveled, Squeaky's Tip-Top during the many, many years it was open, served not only as the accepted place to grab a quick beer but also as an ad hoc ...
By Steven Uhles

Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013

Sonic Spotlight: Country artist Cody Webb to play in Augusta

Country singer-songwriter Cody Webb is all over the place, doing gigs in much of the Southeast and beyond. He'll perform at 10 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 24, at Wild Wing Cafe, 3035 Washington Road.
By Anne Waits

Live music: The Daniel Johnson Band

The Daniel Johnson Band takes the stage at Coyotes this Friday, Nov. 22.
loading...
Top headlines

Christmas Eve rains to dry up

If Wednesday seemed particularly wet and dreary, you would be right. The day broke the record for the wettest Christmas Eve that Augusta has ever had.
Search Augusta jobs