Florida tops list with 16

  • Follow College

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. --- Defending national champion Florida had a league-high 16 players named to the coaches preseason All-Southeastern Conference football teams on Thursday.

The Gators had eight first-team picks, led by quarterback Tim Tebow and linebacker Brandon Spikes.

Louisiana State University had 10 total selections to either the first, second or third team, while Alabama and Georgia had nine each. Mississippi and Tennessee had seven apiece, while Kentucky had six, Vanderbilt five, South Carolina and Arkansas four each, Auburn three and Mississippi State two.

The teams were chosen by league coaches. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

Nine of the 12 schools had a player on the first team. Each school had at least two players on either the first, second or third team.

There were only three unanimous first-team picks: LSU offensive lineman Ciron Black, Alabama wide receiver Julio Jones and Tennessee defensive back Eric Berry.

Georgia wide receiver A.J. Green and linebacker Rennie Curran were named to the first team; offensive linemen Clint Boling and Cordy Glenn and defensive tackle Geno Atkins and defensive back Prince Miller made the second team; and offensive lineman Trinton Sturdivant, defensive tackle Jeff Owens and safety Reshad Jones were named to the third team.

South Carolina linebacker Eric Norwood made the first team, while quarterback Stephen Garcia, defensive back Chris Culliver and punter Spencer Lanning made the third team.

Of the 82 players selected to one of the three teams, Green, Glenn, Sturdivant and Garcia were four of the only 10 sophomores chosen.

Search Augusta jobs