Originally created 05/29/06

Clemson to host NCAA tournament regional

COLUMBIA, S.C. - Clemson will host its 11th tournament regional, the NCAA announced Sunday.

Clemson (46-14), who beat North Carolina State 8-4 Sunday to win the Atlantic Coast Conference championship, is the only South Carolina school hosting a regional. It's also the only school on the list to have hosted more than 10 regionals since the NCAA started using the format in 1975.

The College of Charleston won an automatic bid to the tournament Saturday by beating The Citadel in the Southern Conference championship game.

Other Palmetto State teams expecting an at-large bid to the tournament include South Carolina and Winthrop.

The field of 64 is made up of 30 conference tournament winners and 34 at-large teams.

From the ACC, hosts are Georgia Tech, who Clemson beat late Saturday to advance to the championship game, North Carolina and Virginia.

From the Southeastern Conference, host teams are Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky and Mississippi.

Other sites chosen Sunday were Cal St. Fullerton, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Oregon St., Pepperdine, Rice and Texas.

Each regional field features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be played June 2-5.

The rest of the field will be announced Monday.


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us