Originally created 11/27/05


Volunteer awards

The Association of Fundraising Professionals has honored the following volunteers in the community:

Dr. A. Bleakley Chandler Jr., Outstanding Philanthropist; and Westinghouse Savannah River Co., Outstanding Corporation/Foundation.

Also, Augusta-Fort Gordon chapter of the Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association, Outstanding Volunteer Association.

Also, Marion White Linder, Outstanding Fundraising Volunteer; and Helen Hendee, Outstanding Fundraising Professional.

Also, Anne Randall Hatcher, Caitlin King and Christopher Turner, Outstanding Youth Volunteers.

Gets scholarship

Alex K. Monroe, a first-year law student from Augusta and son of Alex R. and Tammie Monroe, of Hephzibah, has received a Oliver W. Hill-Samuel W. Tucker Scholarship at Liberty University School of Law, Lynchburg, Va.

Donates to center

The Taylor Auto Group has donated $10,000 to the Medical College of Georgia Children's Medical Center.

Junior trustees

The following area students have been named to the Junior Board of Trustees for the Watson-Brown Foundation:

Chris Hearon, Westminster Schools of Augusta; Laura Lemley, Augusta Preparatory Day School; and Allegra Yeley, John S. Davidson Fine Arts School.

Enterprising fellow

Dr. Okoroafor Nzeh, of Paine College, has been named a Sam M. Walton Free Enterprise Fellow by Students in Free Enterprise.

Hospital helps Scouts

Girl Scouts, Central Savannah River Council, has received a donation from Doctors Hospital of $25,000 per year for the next five years.

Attends conference

Glenise L.R. Allen, a student at Paine College, recently attended the National Education Association Student Program conference in Boston.

Poetry winners

The winners of the Augusta alumnae chapter of Delta Sigma Theta sorority's 21st annual poetry contest were:

High school division - D'Vandra Yvette Jenkins, Glenn Hills, first; Jade Hawk, John S. Davidson Fine Arts School, second; and Stephanie Walker, Lucy Laney, third.

Middle school division - Marva Tanksley, Tutt, first; Quiyomaha Bunch, East Augusta, second; and Ruff Sloane, Tutt, third.

Elementary school division - Jasmine Rogers, Craig Houghton, first; Christopher Wilson, Ursula Collins, second; and Ashley Roberts, Freedom Park, third.


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us