Originally created 11/10/05

New standard is set by Cox

ATLANTA - Of Atlanta's 14 consecutive division titles, manager Bobby Cox said the past two years' have been the most challenging and rewarding.

To that end, Cox won his second consecutive National League Manager of the Year award on Wednesday, his fourth overall.

No manager had won the honor, given by the Baseball Writers' Association of America, in consecutive years. No one else has won it four times, either.

Cox also won the award with the Braves in 1991 and in 1985, with Toronto.

And, because of injuries and an influx of rookies, he blew away the competition this time around.

Cox received 28 first-place votes. St. Louis' Tony LaRussa and Washington's Frank Robinson were the only others to get any nods for first, and they picked up two each.

"It's an honor again," said Cox, 64. "It's something we don't set out to win. ... But I do hold it in high esteem."

Ozzie Guillen was selected AL Manager of the Year, rewarded for guiding the Chicago White Sox to a stellar season that culminated with a World Series championship.

Guillen received 17 first-place votes, five seconds and five thirds for 105 points in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Eric Wedge of the Cleveland Indians was the runner-up with six first-place votes and 71 points.

Guillen played shortstop for Cox in Atlanta late in his career and said he learned a lot during those days with the Braves.

"There's nothing better than to be around that man because he will teach you how to handle things on the field and off the field," Guillen said of Cox.

In 2005, Atlanta played 18 rookies throughout a season that was filled with Cox and general manager John Schuerholz puzzle-piecing their way through the year.

Despite the almost daily shuffling of the lineup, Cox was able to help keep things steady and the Braves finished 90-72.

The Associated Press contributed to this story.

Reach Travis Haney at travis.haney@morris.com.

Bobby Cox

Wins: 90

Losses: 72

2005: Won division title for 14th year in a row

Past awards: 1985, 1991, 2004 Manager of the Year

Ozzie Guillen

Wins: 99

Losses: 63

2005: Won World Series

Past awards: 1985 American League Rookie of the Year


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us