Originally created 09/22/05


Chosen as intern

Michele Kim, of Augusta, daughter of Jae Hun and Hyun Sook, has been chosen to serve as an intern for Gov. Sonny Perdue's Executive Counsel Office.

Gets gold medal

Blake Underwood, a junior at Westminster Schools of Augusta and son of Kathleen and George Hovan, of Columbia County, has received the Congressional Gold Medal Award, the highest honor bestowed on young people by the Congress.

$10,000 donation

The Jefferson Energy Cooperative Foundation has donated $10,000 to Safe Homes of Augusta.

Gallery director

Pamela Ferguson-Haggins, a temporary instructor of art in the Department of Fine Arts at Augusta State University, has been named as the director of the university's Fine Arts Gallery.

Gets scholarships

Shusweela Oliphant, of Augusta, has received a $2,700 Sallie Mae Fund Unmet Need Scholarship and a $1,000 scholarship for the summer semester from the 2004-05 Georgia-Pacific Scholarship through the Georgia Foundation for Independent Colleges Inc. She is attending Brewton-Parker College, Mount Vernon, Ga.

Baylor graduate

Sherideth LeAnn Carter, of Augusta, has graduated from Baylor University, Waco, Texas.

$1,000 scholarship

Tasheka Novonn Pritchett, the reigning Miss Black El Paso and daughter of Beverly Bell Pritchett, of Augusta, has received a $1,000 scholarship to the University of Texas-Austin.

Named scholar

Hilary Metz, of Augusta, daughter of Larry and Sheryl Bailey, has been named an All-American Collegiate Scholar.

Comcast grant

Donzel Council Jr., son of Donzel Council Sr. and Cathye Council, of Augusta, a 2005 graduate of A.R. Johnson Health, Science and Engineering Magnet School, has received a $1,000 grant from The Comcast Foundation.

To attend conference

Chris LaFavor, son of Dennis and Debbie LaFavor, has been selected to attend the Junior National Young Leaders conference in Washington from Oct. 9-Nov. 3.

Georgia honors

DEAN'S LIST: Marvin Hinkson, Hephzibah; Autumn Leigh Brown, Jennifer Marie Claffey, Charles Thomas Darracott, Anne Holmes Prather, Christopher George Walker, Madeline Bridges Evans, Mary Kelly Russo, Jonathan Ross Trulock and Mary Elizabeth Hutchins, Augusta

PRESIDENTIAL SCHOLARS LIST: John Price Caldwell Jr., Katherine Elise Caldwell, Gregory Taylor Ellison Jr., Natalie Charlene Hamilton, Phuong Tram Ngoc Le, Bassam Hani Mussad, Rebecca Joyce Rahn, Courtney Elizabeth Reece, Katherine Elease Saxon and Kathleen Ann Stuhler, Augusta; Bryan Patrick Davis, Hephzibah; Gmerice Kkhalita Lafayette, Kymberli Therese Darden, Kaitlin Anna Foushee, Lauren Elizabeth Gibbs, Hannah Elizabeth Smith, Ashley Nicole Staten, Anna Rachel Felz, Kemberley La'Toya Beard, Christina Denise Jordon

GRADUATES: Bachelor of arts: Mary Elizabeth Hutchins, Mathew Austin Jackson;

Bachelor of science, family and consumer science: Gordon Baxley Hardy III

Masters of education: Margaret Elizabeth Doss, Rebecca Lynn Hewett, Laura Jean Rychly


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us