Originally created 05/26/05

Augusta State University notes

President's Award

Russell A. Blanchard, former president of Georgia Railroad Bank, has been presented the Augusta State University President's Award, the university's highest honor.

ASU President William A. Bloodworth Jr. made the presentation at the annual President's Club Reception. The honor is given to individuals who display service, dedication and leadership to the university.

Dr. Blanchard, a 1928 alumnus of ASU, has been involved with the university for many years. He is a member of the second graduating class of the then-Junior College of Augusta. In the 1960s, he helped establish the Augusta College Foundation. He is a charter member of the board of trustees and also served as chairman of the foundation.

Blanket party

An Augusta State University student's warm heart will make for some warm children, thanks to a special gift.

Acquanetta Riley, a student in the Master of Education degree program, with help from parents and students at C.T. Walker Traditional Magnet School, made a quilt for each of the children in her daughter's class. The children also got involved in the process by picking out their patterns and using a heat transfer to apply photos of themselves onto the blankets.

"The school's colors are burgundy and gold, so I cut out squares in those colors and let them choose the way they wanted to put them together," Ms. Riley said. "In two days in the back of the classroom, we sewed the quilts together."

Ms. Riley presented the blankets to the children and several staff members at the school on May 18.

Business awards

Four students in the College of Business Administration at Augusta State University received awards at the Phi Beta Lambda 2005 State Leadership Conference in Atlanta.

Catherine Jeske, of Grovetown, received first place in accounting principles; Roy Truman, of Augusta, received first place in C++ programming; David Harris, of North Augusta, received first place in management; and Toni Newman, of Augusta, received second place in marketing.

Mr. Harris was also elected state historian.

The university's PBL chapter received awards, including first place for interaction with the Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA), third place for the American Enterprise Project, a Floy McGarity Silver Seal Award and for contributions to March of Dimes and the PBL Foundation.

Leadership award

Jana Sandarg, who teaches Spanish in ASU's Department of Languages, Literature, and Communications, recently was presented the 2005 Leadership in Foreign Language Education Award by the Foreign Language Association of Georgia at its annual conference.

Dr. Sandarg has taught at ASU since 1981.


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us