Originally created 03/02/05

News you can use



State legislatures are back in session , and here's how you can contact your representatives and senators:

Georgia House of Representatives:

District 119, Sue Burmeister, R-Augusta: ( 404 ) 656-5024, subrmyster@aol.com

District 120, Quincy Murphy, D-Augusta: ( 404 ) 656-0265, qmurphy@legis.state.ga.us

District 121, Henry Howard, D-Augusta: ( 404 ) 656-0287, hhoward@legis.state.ga.us

District 122, Pete Warren, D-Augusta: ( 404 ) 656-0287, petewarren99@comcast.net

District 123, Alberta Anderson, D-Waynesboro: ( 404 ) 656-7859

District 118, Ben Harbin, R-Evans: ( 404 ) 463-2247, bharbin@legis.state.ga.us

District 117, Barry Fleming, R-Harlem: ( 404 ) 656-5024, bfleming@legis.state.ga.us

District 124, Sistie Hudson, D-Sparta: ( 404 ) 656-7859, sistiehudson@aol.com

District 142, Jimmy Lord, D-Sandersville: ( 404 ) 656-7859, jlord@legis.state.ga.us

GEORGIA Senate:

District 22, Charles Walker, D-Augusta: ( 404 ) 463-1374, cwalker@walkergroup.net

District 23, J.B. Powell, D-Blythe: ( 404 ) 463-1314, jbpowell@legis.state.ga.us

District 24, Jim Whitehead, R-Evans: ( 404 ) 656-5114, jwpw32@aol.com.

South Carolina House of Representatives:

District 96, Kenneth G. "Ken" Clark, R, Aiken and Lexington counties; (803) 734-2965; ClarkK@scstatehouse.net

District 82, William "Bill" Clyburn, D, Aiken and Edgefield counties, (803) 734-3033; WC@scstatehouse.net

District 81, Robert S. "Skipper" Perry Jr., R, Aiken County, (803) 734-3032; RSP@scstatehouse.net

District 83, Donald C. Smith, R, Aiken and Edgefield counties, (803) 734-3031; DCS@scstatehouse.net

District 84, J. Roland Smith, R, Aiken County; (803) 734-3114; JS@scstatehouse.net

District 86, James E. "Jim" Stewart, R, Aiken County, (803) 734-3034; StewartJ@scstatehouse.net

South Carolina Senate:

DISTRICT 25, Thomas L. Moore, D, Aiken, Edgefield, McCormick and Saluda counties, (803) 212-6156; TLM@scsenate.org

DISTRICT 24, W. Greg Ryberg, R, Aiken County, (803) 212-6400; STR@scsenate.org

DISTRICT 26, Nikki G. Setzler, D, Aiken, Lexington and Saluda counties, (803) 212-6140; NGS@scsenate.org

Around Town

TODAY

SCOUT LUNCHEON: The Georgia-Carolina Council, Boy Scouts of America, will present its 14th annual Good Scouts Luncheon at 11:30 a.m. at the Augusta Towers Hotel, 2651 Perimeter Parkway. Tickets cost $15 a person or $250 for corporate tables. For more information, call 733-5277.

Back in time:

Today in regional history:

March 2, 1923

Waynesboro, Ga. -- Deputy Sheriff C.C. Broxton and county Officer T. B. Skinner seized a large liquor outfit yesterday afternoon about 15 miles out from town on Loveine branch near Shellbluff landing.

It was an up-to-date outfit, consisting of a 100-gallon copper still and ten large fermenters. holding 800 gallons of beer each.

No arrests have been made yet, as the parties were successful in making a getaway before officers reached the location.

Officers have been very effective in the last 10 or 12 days, as they have seized and destroyed seven copper stills.

TO SUGGEST an event listing for Around Town, send an e-mail to announcements@augustachronicle.com or send a fax to 722-7403. Briefly describe the event and include the day, place and time, plus a contact name and number for more information.

To suggest a photo, call 823-3230 or send e-mail to rob.carr@augustachronicle.com.