Originally created 12/16/04

This week



This week

Let all mortal flesh keep silence: Columbia County Choral Society presentation 7:30 p.m. Friday ; First Baptist Church of Evans, corner of Belair and Washington roads; $8 general admission, $6 students, seniors; 650-2311.

UPCOMING

Photography workshop: 9 a.m. Saturday, Jan. 8; Phinizy Swamp Nature Park, off Doug Barnard Parkway, near Augusta Regional Airport; workshop on basic nature photography, lens choice, film and more; $3 members, $5 nonmembers; register by Thursday, Jan. 6; 828-2109.

The common denominator: Augusta Mini Theatre presentation; 8 p.m. Thursday-Friday, Jan. 13-14, 3 and 8 p.m. Saturday-Sunday, Jan. 15-16; Jack B. Patrick Technology Center; salutes Martin Luther King Jr.; $12 adults, $10 students, youth groups, $8 per child; 722-0598.

Waterfowl walk: 9 a.m. Saturday, Jan. 15; Phinizy Swamp Nature Park, off Doug Barnard Parkway near Augusta Regional Airport; field trip through wetlands to view wintering waterfowl; $3 members, $5 nonmembers; register by Wednesday, Jan. 12; 828-2109.

military history and toy soldier show: 3 p.m. Friday, Jan. 14, 9 a.m. Saturday-Sunday, Jan. 15-16; Augusta Towers Hotel and Conference Center, 2651 Perimeter Parkway; military miniatures, toy soldiers, chess tournament, diplomacy tournament, vendors, games; 868-5255.

26th annual augusta futurity: Thursday-Saturday, Jan. 20-29; Augusta-Richmond County Civic Center, 601 Seventh St.; cutting horse competitions, Wrangler Family Fun Fest, Futurity Dance, horse auction, exhibitors of Western wear, bull riding and more; $2-$12 general admission, $5-$13.50 reserved seating, box seating available; 828-7700.

Teacher's workshop: 5

8:15 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 27,

9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 29; Phinizy Swamp Nature Park, off Doug Barnard Parkway, near Augusta Regional Airport; learn to teach kindergarten through 12th-graders about wetlands, ecology; $25 registration fee; bring sack lunch Saturday; 828-2109.

Swamp saturday volunteer training: 9 a.m. to noon Saturday, Feb. 5; Phinizy Swamp Nature Park, off Doug Barnard Parkway, near Augusta Regional Airport; teaches how to lead Saturday hikes through the swamp; free; R.S.V.P. by Thursday, Feb. 3; 828-2109.

Sweetheart bike tour: 2-4 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 13; Phinizy Swamp Nature Park, near Augusta Regional Airport; 15-mile bike ride with Andy Jordan; $3 members, $5 nonmembers; register by Thursday, Feb. 10; 828-2109.

twilight tour: 6 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 17; Phinizy Swamp Nature Park, off Doug Barnard Parkway, near Augusta Regional Airport; educational twilight walk through the park's wetlands; $3 member families, $5 nonmember families; 828-2109.

Dawn walk: 5 a.m. Saturday, Feb. 19; Phinizy Swamp Nature Park, off Doug Barnard Parkway, near Augusta Regional Airport; view sunrise and watch animals become active; $3 members, $5 nonmembers; register by Wednesday, Feb. 16; 828-2109.

nature photography workshop: 9 a.m. Saturday, March 5; Phinizy Swamp Nature Park, off Doug Barnard Parkway, near Augusta Regional Airport; learn to take photographs in nature with Ed Belinski; $3 members, $5 nonmembers; register by Thursday, March 3; 828-2109.

Family discovery series:

6 p.m. Thursday, March 17; Phinizy Swamp Nature Park, off Doug Barnard Parkway, near Augusta Regional Air-port; topic will be snakes; $3 member family, $5 nonmem-ber family; 828-2109.

full moon nature hike: 9 p.m. Friday, March 25; Phinizy Swamp Nature Park, off Doug Barnard Parkway, near Augusta Regional Airport; search for nocturnal animals under a full moon; free for members, $5 nonmembers; deadline Tuesday, March 22; 828-2109.