Originally created 11/23/04

Sewak, Foster receive honors

SPARTANBURG, S.C. - Appalachian State receiver DaVon Fowlkes and Furman linebacker William Freeman were named the Southern Conference's players of the year Monday, while Georgia Southern's Mike Sewak earned coach of the year.

Other awards, as voted on by league football coaches, went to quarterback Jayson Foster of Georgia Southern (freshman of the year) and offensive lineman Ben Bainbridge of Furman (the Jacobs Blocking Trophy).

Fowlkes, a senior, set a conference record with 103 receptions for 1,618 yards and 14 touchdowns to earn offensive honors.

Freeman, a junior, led the Paladins with 86 tackles. That was the third-highest total in the Southern Conference this season as he took the defensive award.

Sewak had a 9-2 mark in his third season with the Eagles, who shared the league championship with Furman this season. Georgia Southern takes on New Hampshire in the opening round of the NCAA Division I-AA playoffs Saturday.

Foster, a freshman quarterback, scored five different ways for the Eagles this season. He rushed for four touchdowns, threw a 54-yard TD pass, caught two scoring passes and had a 94-yard punt return and an 83-yard kickoff return.

Bainbridge, a senior, was part of a Furman line that helped average 227.5 yards rushing this season.


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us