Originally created 06/18/04

Carlisle named coach of year

Fresh off leading his team to its first national championship, Michael Carlisle raked in another postseason honor this week.

The USC Aiken head coach was named the Eaton Golf Pride Division II Coach of the Year on Tuesday by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

"This is obviously a great honor, one I appreciate and respect," Carlisle said, "but I don't put as much into individual awards as I do team honors and the success of our program as a whole.

"This award merely reflects the quality of student-athletes we have in our program. Their hard work and dedication is what has allowed all of the honors and recognition to come USC Aiken's way."

In 14 seasons, Carlisle has turned USC Aiken into a Division II power. The Pacers have qualified for the postseason every year and have advanced to the NCAA Championships 11 times.

USC Aiken has won five Peach Belt Conference championships and has finished national runner-up three times before breaking through last month.

In Deland, Fla., the Pacers shot 39-over par to win the national tournament by nine shots over Cal State Chico. Scott Brown, Clint Smith and Dane Burkhart each finished in the top 10 individually.

Under Carlisle, the Pacers have had 35 All-Americans, 29 All-Peach Belt selections, four Peach Belt players of the year, two Peach Belt freshmen of the year, one NCAA Freshman of the Year and seven All-Academic honorees.


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us