Originally created 06/11/04

St. Louis wins Pearson award as players' MVP

TORONTO -- Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning won the Lester B. Pearson Award as the NHL's most outstanding player Thursday.

St. Louis, who helped the Lightning capture their first Stanely Cup, took the award voted on by members of the NHL Players' Association.

The other finalists were goalie Roberto Luongo of the Florida Panthers and Joe Sakic of the Colorado Avalanche.

"Besides the Stanley Cup, this is probably the trophy I will remember and cherish for the rest of my life," St. Louis said.

St. Louis won his first Art Ross Trophy with 94 points, including 38 goals, this season.

St. Louis was a finalist for the NHL's Hart Trophy as most valuable player, along with New Jersey goalie Martin Brodeur and Calgary forward Jerome Iginla. The league awards were presented Thursday night.

The NHLPA has presented the Lester B. Pearson Award since the 1970-71 season. Markus Naslund of the Vancouver Canucks was last year's winner.


Trending this week:


© 2017. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us