Originally created 03/15/04

State Forester declares burn ban for Upstate

COLUMBIA, S.C. -- The State Forester has declared a burning ban in 19 counties because a wildfire in Oconee County has drained resources in the Upstate.

The burning ban is for Abbeville, Anderson, Cherokee, Chester, Edgefield, Fairfield, Greenville, Greenwood, Laurens, Lexington, McCormick, Newberry, Oconee, Pickens, Richland, Saluda, Spartanburg, Union and York.

Forestry Commission fire managers say staffing the fire has left fire protection resources thin in other areas. The fire is burning on National Forest land and is expected to spread to private lands. Rough terrain has made firefighting operations difficult, according to the Forestry Commission.


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us