Originally created 08/08/03

Concert calendar



THIS WEEK

AMERICAN IDOLS LIVE: Tonight, Charlotte Coliseum, Charlotte, N.C.; 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Philips Arena, Atlanta; $27-$47.

TOBY KEITH: Tonight, Verizon Wireless Amphitheater, Charlotte, N.C.

HOOTIE AND THE BLOWFISH, TONIC, LIZ PHAIR, THE CLARKS, BAIN MATTOX: 6-11 tonight, Centennial Olympic Park, Atlanta, free.

THE ALLMAN BROTHERS: Saturday, Verizon Wireless Amphitheater, Charlotte, N.C.

50 CENT, FABOLOUS AND OBIE TRICE: 6:30 p.m. Sunday, Verizon Wireless Amphitheater, Charlotte, N.C.

ADEMA: 7 p.m. Tuesday, Tremont Music Hall, Charlotte, N.C.; $15 advance, $17 at the door.

LOOKING AHEAD

TOM PETTY AND THE HEARTBREAKERS: 8 p.m. Friday, Aug. 15, North Charleston Coliseum, Charleston, S.C.; $35, $47.50 reserved.

GEORGE CLINTON, NORTH MISSISSIPPI ALLSTARS, KEVN KINNEY BAND, MICHAEL TOLCHER: 6-11 p.m. Friday, Aug. 15, Centennial Olympic Park, Atlanta, free.

GIN BLOSSOMS AND PART-TIME HEROES: Saturday, Aug. 16, Amos Southend, Charlotte, N.C.

G. LOVE AND SPECIAL SAUCE: 8 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 20, Visulite Theatre, Charlotte, N.C.; $24 at the door.

GOO GOO DOLLS, PAT MCGEE BAND AND MARC BROUSSARD: 6-11 p.m. Friday, Aug. 22, Centennial Olympic Park, Atlanta, free.

OZZFEST 2003, WITH OZZY OSBOURNE, KORN AND MARILYN MANSON: Sunday, Aug. 24, Verizon Wireless Amphitheater, Charlotte, N.C.; Tuesday, Aug. 26, HiFi Buys Amphitheatre, Atlanta.

TORI AMOS: Sunday, Aug. 31, North Charleston Coliseum, Charleston S.C.; with Ben Folds Five.

DAVE MATTHEWS BAND: Saturday, Sept. 20, HiFi Buys Amphitheatre, Atlanta.

BROOKS AND DUNN: 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 4, Reaves Arena, Perry, Ga., $28.50 reserved seats.

JUPITER COYOTE, LANEY STRICKLAND BAND AND THE KINCHAFOONEE COWBOYS: 7:30 p.m. Friday, Oct. 10, Reaves Arena, Perry, Ga., $10 general admission.

HOOTIE AND THE BLOWFISH: 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 11, Reaves Arena, Perry, Ga., $24.50 reserved seats.

BILL GAITHER HOMECOMING TOUR: 7 p.m. Friday, Oct. 17, Florence Civic Center, Florence, S.C.; $34.75, $19.75 reserved.

OLIVIA NEWTON-JOHN: Thursday, Oct. 30, Bell Auditorium, 712 Telfair St.

JUBILATE: 7 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 31, Charlotte Coliseum, Charlotte, N.C.; $32.50, $19.50 reserved.

TICKETMASTER TIPSHere are the ups and downs of ticket-purchasing options.CIVIC CENTER: Ups: No service charges. Downs: The civic center box office (724-2400) sells tickets only for events at the center and Bell Auditorium.Outlets: Ups: The lines move fairly quickly. Downs: Service charges.Charge-by-phone at 828-7700: Ups: Convenience.Downs: Service charges.