Originally created 05/29/03

S.C. Athletic Hall of Fame honors amateurs, professional

COLUMBIA, S.C. -- The South Carolina Athletic Hall of Fame will honor three amateurs and one professional athlete at an induction ceremony Thursday.

Philadelphia Eagles running back and former South Carolina standout Duce Staley will be awarded the state's professional athlete of the year.

Staley was an all-state wide receiver at Airport High School and played for the Gamecocks before being drafted by the Eagles in 1997. Last season, he ran for 1,029 yards and five touchdowns and caught 51 passes for 541 yards and five touchdowns.

Clemson basketball player Ed Scott will be named male amateur athlete of the year. The Eastover native led the Tigers in scoring and assists.

Clemson women's basketball standout Chrissy Floyd and a South Carolina golfer Kristy McPherson will share the female amateur athlete award.

Floyd led the Tigers in scoring for four straight years, while McPherson lead the Southeastern Conference in stroke average.

Also eight athletes will be inducted into the Hall of Fame. They are NBA star Xavier McDaniel, NFL players Kevin Long, J.R. Wilburn and Perry Tuttle, Clemson basketball star Randy Mahaffey, Clemson track athlete Tina Krebs, NASCAR great Buck Baker and Marion duPont Scott, who is credited with saving the Carolina Cup from extinction in the 1970s.

South Carolina track coach Curtis Frye, who was named National Coach of the Year last year, will be given a special achievement award during the ceremony.


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us