Originally created 12/13/02

Colorado punter wins award

Colorado's Mark Mariscal won the third-annual Ray Guy Award on Thursday night at the ESPN College Football Awards Show in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Mariscal, a senior who led the nation this season with a 48.21-yard average on his punts, beat out Tennessee's Dustin Colquitt and Kentucky's Glenn Pakulak for the award given to the top punter in Division I-A.

Sponsored by the Greater Augusta Sports Council, the award recognizes the achievements of the player who is considered one of the best punters in the game's history. A native of Thomson, Guy was a first-round draft choice by Oakland in 1973 and was a part of three Super Bowl champion teams with the Raiders.

Guy, now 52, helped establish the award to recognize players at the collegiate level. Kevin Stemke of Wisconsin won the inaugural award in 2000, and Purdue's Travis Dorsch won it in 2001.

"I met Mark in July when he came to one of my camps in Colorado," Guy said from Florida on Thursday evening. "I was very impressed with his style, his motion and his concentration."

The voting was done by a national committee of college coaches, sports information directors and sports writers. An emphasis was placed on performance in the following categories: net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line, average return yardage and percentage of punts not returned.

Mariscal, who led the nation in punting since Sept. 7, had a net average of 43 yards per punt. Sixteen of his punts were downed inside the 20.

Mariscal will be invited to the Greater Augusta Sports Awards Gala, the date of which has yet to be determined.


The Ray Guy Award, presented by the Greater Augusta Sports Council, is named for the Thomson native who became an All-Pro punter for the Oakland Raiders. It has been presented annually since 2000 to the nation's top punter. A look at the three winners:

  • Mark Mariscal, Colorado, 2002
  • Travis Dorsch, Purdue won, 2001
  • Kevin Stemke, Wisconsin, 2000

  • AllAccess

    Trending this week:


    © 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us