Originally created 06/29/02

Chronicle wins honors for coverage, photography

JEKYLL ISLAND, Ga. - The Augusta Chronicle won 17 journalism awards and photographer Ron Cockerille won Photo of the Year in the Georgia Press Association's annual Better Newspapers Contest. The winners were announced at a banquet Friday night.

Mr. Cockerille's photo also won first place as the best spot news photo in competition with Georgia's largest newspapers. Staff Photographer Michael Holahan also won a first-place award for best news photograph. Photographer Jonathan Ernst earned a third-place award in the same category.

Other Chronicle staffers winning awards were: John Boyette, second place, sports writing; Mr. Holahan, second place, feature photo; Chris Thelen, second place, sports photo; Nate Owens, third place, information graphics; Mr. Ernst, third place, photo essay; and Bill Kirby, third place, humor column writing.

In staff awards, The Chronicle won second place in local news coverage, editorial writing, Page One presentation and coverage of the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks. It also won a second-place award for special issues with its America Under Attack section and third place for its annual Masters Edition.

The staff won third-place awards for community service, lifestyle coverage and religion coverage.

In competition with the state's largest community newspapers, The Columbia County News-Times won 22 awards, including six first-place honors.

The News-Times earned first-place awards for local news coverage, front page design, newspaper illustration and three photography categories. It also won a second-place award in the General Excellence category in its division.

Staff Photographer Jim Blaylock was among the state's biggest winners, with six individual awards - two first-place awards for best feature photo and best news photo, second-place awards for photo essay and photo illustration, and third-place awards in sports photo and feature photo categories.

Jon Tanner earned a first-place award for newspaper illustration, and Chris Thelen earned a first-place for best sports photo.

The News-Times won second-place awards for general excellence, community service and coverage of the local impact of the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks.

Preston Sparks won a second-place award for sports writing, and former Chronicle photographer Todd Bennett won a second-place award for sports photography.

Sports Editor Mike Howell won a third-place award for sports writing, and the newspaper staff won third-place honors for sports coverage, religion coverage, business coverage and headline writing.


Trending this week:


© 2016. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us