Originally created 05/16/02

Racing facts

The Winston

What: The Winston (non-points all-star race).

Who: NASCAR Winston Cup Series.

Where: 1.5-mile, D-shaped oval at Lowe's Motor Speedway in Concord, N.C.

When: Television coverage starts at 7 p.m. EST, races starts at 7:30 p.m.

Broadcast: Television - FX; Radio - Motor Racing Network.

Distance: 90 laps.

Last year's winner: Jeff Gordon.

Notes: Posted awards are $3 million ... Considered one of the best nights of racing since the results don't effect the Winston Cup Series standings ... Race open to drivers and car owners with victories since the start of the 2001 season, as well as former series champions, all-star winners from the last five years and winners of two qualifying races, the Winston Open and the No Bull Sprint ... The main event is 90 laps, broken into three segments: 40, 30 and 20 laps. The top 20 finishers after the first segment advance to the 30-lap second segment, and the top 10 finishers then advance to the 20-lap finale that's worth $750,000 to the winner.

Qualified drivers: Michael Waltrip, Steve Park, Jeff Gordon, Kevin Harvick, Dale Jarrett, Elliott Sadler, Bobby Hamilton, Rusty Wallace, Tony Stewart, Jeff Burton, Ricky Rudd, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Bobby Labonte, Sterling Marlin, Ward Burton, Ricky Craven, Joe Nemechek, Bill Elliott, Robby Gordon, Matt Kenseth, Jimmie Johnson, Kurt Busch, Terry Labonte, Mark Martin and Mike Wallace.

Other races: Saturday _ EasyCare Vehicle Services Contracts 100 (ARCA Re/Max Series) at Lowe's Motor Speedway; Sunday _ Stacker 2 200 (NASCAR Busch Series) at Nazareth (Pa.) Speedway (12:30 p.m., FX); Rocky Mountain 200 (NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series) at Pike's Peak (Col.) International Raceway (4 p.m., ESPN).


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us