Originally created 05/07/02

Tony nominations unveiled

NEW YORK -- "Thoroughly Modern Millie," the tale of an ambitious 1920s flapper in search of a wealthy husband, received 11 Tony Awards nominations Monday, while the fairy tale musical "Into the Woods" and the provocatively titled "Urinetown" got 10.

"Morning's at Seven," the gently nostalgic story of family squabbles, received nine nominations, with five of the nine going to either the featured actor or featured actress category.

Edward Albee's "The Goat"; "Fortune's Fool," an adaptation of a comedy by Ivan Turgenev; "Metamorphoses," taken from the classic myths of Ovid and "Topdog/Underdog," Suzan-Lori Parks' drama about sibling rivalry were the nominees for best play.

Nominated as best musical were "Urinetown," where people have to pay to go to the bathroom; the ABBA-inspired "Mamma Mia!", and two musicals based on movies, "Thoroughly Modern Millie," and "Sweet Smell of Success," the story of a vicious New York gossip columnist.

In the revival-play category, the shows that will vie for the Tony will be Noel Coward's "Private Lives," the British farce "Noises Off," "The Crucible" (Arthur Miller's take on the Salem witch trials) and "Morning's at Seven."

In the hotly contested best-actor category, the nominees were Alan Bates, "Fortune's Fool"; Billy Crudup as the physically deformed title character in "The Elephant Man"; Liam Neeson as a conflicted farmer in Arthur Miller's "The Crucible"; Alan Rickman in "Private Lives," and Jeffrey Wright in "Topdog/Underdog."

Kate Burton received two Tony nominations - one in the actress category and a second in featured-actress slot. She was nominated for playing "Hedda Gabler" in a revival of the Ibsen classic and for portraying a sympathetic English actress in "The Elephant Man."

Burton's competition for best-actress: Lindsay Duncan, "Private Lives"; Laura Linney, "The Crucible"; Helen Mirren, "Dance of Death," and Mercedes Ruehl, "The Goat."

Actor-musical nominations went to Gavin Creel, "Thoroughly Modern Millie"; the veteran John Cullum, "Urinetown"; John Lithgow, "Sweet Smell of Success"; John McMartin, "Into the Wood," and Patrick Wilson, "Oklahoma!"

Two actresses from "Urinetown," Nancy Opel and Jennifer Laura Thompson will compete against each other for the actress-musical prize. They will face Sutton Foster, who plays Millie in "Thoroughly Modern Millie"; Louise Pitre in "Mamma Mia!" and Vanessa Williams, who is the witch in "Into the Woods."

Left out of the revival category were "The Elephant Man," "Dance of Death" and "The Man Who Had All the Luck," Arthur Miller's first Broadway play which closed after only four performances in 1944.

"The Graduate," the Kathleen Turner star vehicle based on the Mike Nichols classic film comedy, got no nominations. It also got some of the worse reviews of the season. Also passed over for nominations were such critically lauded performers as Ian McKellen in "Dance of Death" and Bill Pullman in "The Goat."

In the thin musical-revival category, the competition will be only between "Oklahoma!" and the Stephen Sondheim-James Lapine fairy tale musical, "Into the Woods."

As expected, the announcement of nominations for the best of the Broadway season yielded something that was missing from last year's contest - real competition.

In 2001, the smash Mel Brooks musical "The Producers" dominated the nominations and then the ceremony itself. The show received 15 nominations and took home 12 awards last June, unseating "Hello, Dolly!" as the winner of the most awards ever.

This year, things weren't nearly as clear cut.

Winners will be announced June 2 in a nationally televised broadcast from Radio City Music Hall.

The 2002 Tony Award nominations:

Play: "The Goat," "Fortune's Fool," "Metamorphoses," "Topdog/Underdog."

Musical: "Mamma Mia!," "Sweet Smell of Success," "Thoroughly Modern Millie," "Urinetown The Musical."

Book of a Musical: "Mamma Mia!" by John Guare, "Sweet Smell of Success" by Richard Morris and Dick Scanlan, "Thoroughly Modern Millie" by Greg Kotis, "Urinetown The Musical."

Best Original Score (Music & Lyrics): "Sweet Smell of Success," Marvin Hamlisch (music), Craig Carnelia (lyrics); "Thoroughly Modern Millie," Jeanine Tesori (music), Dick Scanlan (lyrics); "Thou Shalt Not," Harry Connick, Jr. (music & lyrics); "Urinetown The Musical," Mark Hollmann (music), Mark Hollmann & Greg Kotis (lyrics).

Original Score: "Sweet Smell of Success," Jeanine Tesori (music), Dick Scanlan (lyrics); "Thoroughly Modern Millie," Harry Connick, Jr. (music & lyrics); "Thou Shalt Not," Mark Hollmann (music); Mark Hollmann & Greg Kotis (lyrics), "Urinetown The Musical."

Revival-Play: "The Crucible," "Morning's at Seven," "Noises Off," "Private Lives."

Revival-Musical: "Into the Woods," "Oklahoma!"

Special Theatrical Event: "Bea Arthur on Broadway," "Just Between Friends," "Elaine Stritch at Liberty," "Mostly Sondheim," "Sexaholix ... a love story."

Actor-Play: Alan Bates, "Fortune's Fool"; Billy Crudup, "The Elephant Man"; Liam Neeson, "The Crucible"; Alan Rickman, "Private Lives"; Jeffrey Wright, "Topdog/Underdog."

Actress-Play: Kate Burton, "Hedda Gabler"; Lindsay Duncan, "Private Lives"; Laura Linney, "The Crucible"; Helen Mirren, "Dance of Death"; Mercedes Ruehl, "The Goat."

Actor-Musical: Gavin Creel, "Thoroughly Modern Millie"; John Cullum, "Urinetown The Musical"; John Lithgow, "Sweet Smell of Success"; John McMartin, "Into the Woods"; Patrick Wilson, "Oklahoma!"

Actress-Musical: Sutton Foster, "Thoroughly Modern Millie"; Nancy Opel, "Urinetown The Musical"; Louise Pitre, "Mamma Mia!"; Jennifer Laura Thompson, "Urinetown The Musical"; Vanessa Williams, "Into the Woods."

Featured Actor-Play: Frank Langella, "Fortune's Fool"; William Biff McGuire, "Morning's at Seven"; Brian Murray, "The Crucible"; Sam Robards, "The Man Who Had All the Luck"; Stephen Tobolowsky, "Morning's at Seven."

Featured Actress-Play: Kate Burton, "The Elephant Man"; Katie Finneran, "Noises Off"; Elizabeth Franz, "Morning's at Seven"; Estelle Parsons, "Morning's at Seven"; Frances Sternhagen, "Morning's at Seven."

Featured Actor-Musical: Norbert Leo Butz, "Thou Shalt Not"; Gregg Edelman, "Into the Woods"; Shuler Hensley, "Oklahoma!"; Brian d'Arcy James, "Sweet Smell of Success"; Marc Kudisch, "Thoroughly Modern Millie."

Featured Actress-Musical: Laura Benanti, "Into the Woods"; Harriet Harris, "Thoroughly Modern Millie"; Spencer Kayden, "Urinetown The Musical"; Judy Kaye, "Mamma Mia!"; Andrea Martin, "Oklahoma!"

Scenic Design: John Lee Beatty, "Morning's at Seven"; Tim Hatley, "Private Lives"; Daniel Ostling, "Metamorphoses"; "Douglas W. Schmidt, "Into the Woods."

Costume Design: Jenny Beavan, "Private Lives"; Jane Greenwood, "Morning's at Seven"; Susan Hilferty, "Into the Woods"; Martin Pakledinaz, "Thoroughly Modern Millie."

Lighting Design: Paul Gallo, "The Crucible"; David Hersey, "Oklahoma!"; Natasha Katz, "Sweet Smell of Success"' Brian MacDevitt, "Into the Woods."

Choreography: Rob Ashford, "Thoroughly Modern Millie"; John Carrafa, "Into the Woods"; John Carrafa, "Urinetown The Musical"; Susan Stroman, "Oklahoma!"

Direction of a Play: Howard Davies, "Private Lives"' Richard Eyre, "The Crucible"; Daniel Sullivan, "Morning's at Seven," Mary Zimmerman, "Metamorphoses."

Direction of a Musical: James Lapine, "Into the Woods," Michael Mayer, "Thoroughly Modern Millie"; Trevor Nunn, "Oklahoma!"; John Rando, "Urinetown The Musical."

Orchestrations: Benny Andersson, Bjorn Ulvaeus & Martin Koch, "Mamma Mia!"; Doug Besterman & Ralph Burns, "Thoroughly Modern Millie"; William David Brohn, "Sweet Smell of Success"; Bruce Coughlin, "Urinetown The Musical."

Special Awards: Julie Harris and Robert Whitehead.

Regional Theater: Williamstown Theatre Festival.


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us