Originally created 04/14/02

Georgia all-area players

Player of the Year: Darrin Shine, Richmond Academy

Coach of the Year: Kim Chambers, Harlem

First team

Player/[filtered word]/Ht/Yr./School/Comment

Darrin Shine/G/5-11/Sr/Richmond Academy/Stats were through the roof; helped lead a 6-22 team to state playoffs

Cory Tyler/F/6-2/Sr/Laney/Team leading scorer for the past three seasons; scored more than 1,000 points in career

Willie Green/G/5-11/Sr/Butler/A team leader who led Butler to the Sweet 16; might be even better at track

Rocky Trice/G/6-4/Sr/Swainsboro/One of the best shooters in the area and has the ability to play Division I ball

Dontay Williams/F/6-0/Sr/Jenkins County/Averaged 21.2 points and led Jenkins County to the state playoffs

Second team

Ricardo Gibbons, Burke County

Eric Marshall, Greenbrier

Marlon Bussey, Westside

Dejuan Parker, Cross Creek

Matt Scott, Lakeside

Third team

Chris Williams, Harlem

Calvin Roland, Hephzibah

Jevertus Burnett, Warren County

Hayward Dock, Butler

Demario Ballard, Thomson

Honorable Mentions: Aquinas:John Cooper, Travis Edwards; Burke County:Bennie Walker; Butler:Charlie Hairston, Jason Mills, Travis Parker; Cross Creek:Yarsin Scott, Morris Williams, Dominique Lester, Arturo Thompson; Evans:Teddy Ingram, Marcus Davis, Kendrick Davis; Glascock County:John Hadden, Matt Milburn; Glenn Hills:George Brown, Vander Thompkins, Devon Gilchrist; Greenbrier: Tommy McKinney, Richard Burke; Harlem:Domonique Brown Hephzibah:Arthur Thomas, Derrell Hills, Rent Sherrill; Jefferson County:Terrance Lewis;Jenkins County: Cornelius Clemons; Josey:Barry Robinson; Lakeside:Matt Josephson, Aris Verrett, Steven Rogers; Laney:Rod Brisco, J.K. Sabb; Richmond Academy:Jacob Ross; Screven County: Ernest Dixon, Chris Ellison; Swainsboro: Colby Williams, Tavarus Jones; Thomson:Roderick McGahee; Warren County:Sherman Burnett, Tavaras Tolbert; Washington-Wilkes: Tamaal Binns, Denorio Quinn, Chris Graves, Franchot Brown; Westside: Brandon Satcher.

Note:The following schools did not submit nomination forms: Jefferson County, Josey, Lincoln County, Washington County


Player of the Year: Monique Martin, Thomson

Coach of the Year: Bernard Bowman, Glenn Hills

First team

Player/[filtered word]/Ht/Yr./School/Comment

Monique Martin/G/6-1/Sr/Thomson/The University of Georgia signee scored 2,142 points in her career

Adrienne Walker/G/5-7/Sr/Josey/A four-year starter, she averaged 27.3 points and 7.2 assists per game

Marian Whitfield/F/5-9/Jr/Glenn Hills/One of the most athletic players on the most athletic team in the state

Shayla Roberts/G/5-7/Jr/Swainsboro/A guard that can score and rebound; led her team to state finals

Nikki Robinson/C/6-2/Sr/Swainsboro/Improved her game greatly since her junior season

Second team

Vontrease Smith, Jenkins County

Tamara Gilyard, Hephzibah

Tyhiesha Smith, Glenn Hills

Sheena Freeman, Laney

Whitney Muckerson, Jenkins County

Third team

Toya Coard, Lakeside

Kenyarda Berrian, Burke County

Sheena Carpenter, Glenn Hills

Niaka Tanksley, Butler

Marie Reid, Richmond Academy

Honorable Mentions: Aquinas:Ellen Ribock, Cheryl Salomone, Lindsey Trapp, Jennifer Terrell; Burke County:Mia Lakes, Larrell Lewis; Butler:Tanjela Coley, Lakecia Powell, Deena Allen; Evans:Christy Steflik, Kiley Smith; Glascock County:Megan Williams, LaTonia Tucker, LaChandra Neal; Glenn Hills:Felicia Whitley; Greenbrier:Erica Johnson, Lindsey Sutherland, Amy Rigdon, Christine Large, Cat Banks; Harlem:Laura Tam, Toya Johnson; Hephzibah:Cheryl Hannah, Jacquelyn Nelson; Jefferson County:Lashuda Holmes; Josey:Adrian Hayes, Shika Cummingham, Tiana Brice; Lakeside:Nichole Bennett; Laney:Sabrina Wilson, Shawanda Geter, Tameka Brisco; Lincoln County:Angoneckia Booker, Michelle Elam, Vickie Mae Anderson, Catrina Norman, Grace Lockhart, Katiska Henderson; Richmond Acadmey:Jennifer Mathis, LaToshia Broadwater, April Ruffin; Swainsboro:Kenya McNear, Marissa Saulsberry; Thomson:Terease Thornton, Latasha Ross; Warren County:Kelsey Grissom, Chandrea Roberts; Washington County:Markeisha Reeves; Westside:Keoisha Worthy, Allison Beard.

Note:The following schools did not submit nomination forms: Cross Creek, Screven County, Washington County, Washington-Wilkes


Trending this week:


© 2017. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us