Originally created 04/14/02

South Carolina all-area players

Player of the Year: Brandon Wallace, Silver Bluff

Coach of the Year: Samuel Lilly, Silver Bluff

First team

Player/[filtered word]/Ht/Yr./School/Comment

Brandon Wallace/F/6-8/Jr/Silver Bluff/Averaged 22.3 points, 14.6 rebounds and 6.5 blocks

Derris Marshall/C/6-2/Sr/Strom Thurmond/Extremely versatile player who led team to first region title in 11 years

A.J. Gordon/F/6-5/Sr/Aiken/Averaged 18 points and 8 rebounds and scored 37 points against Airport on Senior Night

Jermaine Geter/F/6-4/Sr/Barnwell/Used big body and strong shooting ability to help team to a 23-7 record

Orlando Washington/G/5-10/Sr/North Augusta/In leading his team to state Sweet 16, he averaged 16 points and six assists

Second team

Brandon Isaac, Blackville-Hilda

Josh Jackson, South Aiken

Jamaraine Chandler, Wagener-Salley

Alvin Greenwood, Silver Bluff

Aaron Parker, Silver Bluff

Third team

Brandon Jeffery, Ridge Spring-Monetta

Quinton Ferrell, North Augusta

Adrian Rivera, Barnwell

Trayvis Gathers, South Aiken

Stephen Smith, Barnwell

Honorable Mentions: Barnwell: William Hammond;Blackville-Hilda:Dentroyet Felder, Wilbur Johnson, Jesse Robinson; Midland Valley:John Reddish, Jr.;Ridge Spring-Monetta:Eric Smith; Strom Thurmond: Roosevelt Mims;Wagener-Salley:Rontreal Tyler

The following schools did not submit nomination forms: McCormick, Williston-Elko


Player of the Year: Melanie Johnson, Barnwell

Coach of the Year: Gail Moody Johnson, Ridge Spring-Monetta

First team

Player/[filtered word]/Ht/Yr./School/Comment

Melanie Johnson/G/6-2/Jr/Barnwell/One of the most dominant players in South Carolina.

Martina Peterson/F/5-10/Sr/McCormick/Made a strong return to the court after an injury-laden junior year

Nola Grant/F/6-0/Sr/Aiken/Averaged 16 points while leading Aiken to a 20-7 campaign

Marcy Weathersbee/F/5-9/Sr/Williston-Elko/Averaged a double-double to go with five blocked shots a game

Kikki Valentine/C/6-2/Jr/Ridge Spring-Monetta/An intimidating presence for the state runner-ups

Second team

Brandi Holloway, Ridge Spring-Monetta

Ebony Armstrong, Blackville-Hilda

Ladovia Dukes, Strom Thurmond

Ebony Jones, Aiken

Tina Milhouse, Wagener-Salley

Third team

Cerrissa Griffin, Strom Thurmond

Ashley Dyches, South Aiken

Latrice Thomas, North Augusta

Montair Booker, South Aiken

Sheri Creech, Williston-Elko

Honorable Mentions: Aiken:Kim Justice, Tamica Forrest; Barnwell:Shaniqua Hammond; Blackville-Hilda: Courtney Kemp; McCormick:Latoya Quarles, Roshunnia Dennis; North Augusta:Mariel Mendez, Amy Caver, Georgia Jefferson, Tina Doe, Crystal Norris; Ridge Spring-Monetta:Amekia Corley, Rasalyn Brunson; South Aiken:Ashley Bowman; Wagener-Salley:Shanina Kitchings; Williston-Elko:Sheri Creech, Kimberly Stewart

The following schools did not submit nomination forms: Midland Valley, Silver Bluff


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us