Originally created 12/03/01

Bowls roundup

North Carolina State, Iowa and Michigan State were the latest teams to be invited to bowl games.

North Carolina State (7-4) will face Pittsburgh (6-5) in the Tangerine Bowl on Dec. 20 in Orlando, Fla., Iowa (6-5) is headed to the Alamo Bowl to play a Big 12 team on Dec. 29 in San Antonio, and Michigan State (6-5) will play Fresno State (11-2) in the Silicon Valley Bowl on Dec. 31 in San Jose, Calif.

North Carolina State beat out ACC rival Clemson to get the Tangerine Bowl bid, its third in four years and second straight under coach Chuck Amato. The Wolfpack won four of their last five games.

"We're as excited as can be," Amato said. "You'd think we were going to play in the Rose Bowl for the national championship as excited as they are. I just hope you don't have a recount like you people do down there."

The Hawkeyes, in the Alamo Bowl for the third time, are in the postseason for the first time since 1997. Iowa is 1-1 in Alamo bowls, beating Texas Tech 27-0 in 1996, and losing to California 37-3 in 1993.

Michigan State became bowl eligible on Saturday with a 55-7 win over Missouri. The Spartans average 30 points per game, and will have to keep up the pace to stay with Fresno State, which averages 43.8 points and is led by quarterback David Carr.

Carr is only the sixth college quarterback to pass for 4,000 yards and 40 TDs in a season.

Clemson (6-5), meanwhile, was waiting word on whether it would be invited to the Humanitarian Bowl in Boise, Idaho. Also under consideration for the game are Mississippi (7-4) and UCLA (7-4). The opponent will be a team from the Western Athletic Conference.

On Saturday, No. 1 Miami (11-0) was officially invited to play in the Rose Bowl. The Hurricanes, who beat Virginia Tech 26-24 on Saturday, probably will play either Tennessee or Nebraska for the national title Jan. 3.

Of the four Bowl Championship Series games - the Rose, Fiesta, Orange and Sugar - five teams have already clinched automatic berths as conference champions. They are Miami (Big East), Maryland (ACC), Colorado (Big 12), Illinois (Big Ten) and Oregon (Pac-10).

Tennessee plays LSU for the SEC title on Saturday, and then two at-large selections will be made to fill out the BCS field.


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us