Originally created 07/23/01

State roads dedicated to local individuals

John C. Calhoun Expressway

Dedicated: 1976

Named for: John C. Calhoun (1782-1850), former U.S. vice president and prominent South Carolina legislator

Location: Connects Washington Road and Greene Street

Doug Barnard Parkway

Dedicated: 1994

Named for: D. Douglas Barnard Jr. (1922-present), former U.S. representative from Augusta and 10-year member on the Department of Transportation Board

Location: Follows Tobacco Road from Old Savannah Road to New Savannah Road, then west along New Savannah Road to Gordon Highway, passing Augusta Regional Airport

Jimmie Dyess Parkway

Dedicated: 1994

Named for: Lt. Col. James Dyess (1909-44), only American to receive both the nation's highest civilian and military awards for heroism

Location: Connects Gordon Highway and Interstate 20 along Belair Road

Mike Padgett Highway

Dedicated: 1995

Named for: Michael J. Padgett Sr. (1923-2000), longtime legislator representing Richmond County in the state House, state Senate and Richmond County Commission

Location: Follows Georgia Highway 56 from its intersection at Peach Orchard Road to the Burke County line

Carl Sanders Highway

Dedicated: 1996

Named for: Carl E. Sanders (1925-present), Augusta native who served as Georgia governor from 1963 to 1967 and as a state senator; instrumental in getting Interstate 20 built between Augusta and Atlanta

Location: 86-mile stretch of I-20 between Augusta and Madison

Tom Allgood Interchange

Dedicated: 2001

Named for: Thomas F. Allgood Sr. (1929-2000), former state senator and Senate majority leader, served on the University System of Georgia Board of Regents and was chairman of the Medical College of Georgia Health Inc.'s board

Location: Interchange at the intersection of I-20 and River Watch Parkway


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us