Originally created 01/07/01

Schools get new leader

The Richmond County Board of Education has chosen Andrew Jefferson as its new president.

Mr. Jefferson, 40, had served as vice president for the past two years and has been a member of the school board since 1992.

"It's an honor for my colleagues to give me such a vote of confidence," Mr. Jefferson said shortly after the 8-0 vote was taken Saturday morning.

Voting for Mr. Jefferson, who represents District 4, were board members Eloise Curtis, John Seitz, Jeff Padgett, Y.N. Myers Jr., Johnny Hatney, Helen Minchew and Kenneth Echols Sr.

Board members Marion Barnes and Barbara Padgett abstained from voting for Mr. Jefferson. Neither gave a reason.

Mr. Jefferson replaces Mary Oglesby as board president. Mrs. Oglesby, who represented District 8, chose not to seek re-election in the fall.

Mr. Jefferson was the only incumbent in the five races for the Richmond County Board of Education and had to run against two challengers to keep his post.

Mr. Jefferson, head of the electrical construction and maintenance program at Augusta Technical College, said he hopes to improve communication among board members, bring a positive vision to the board and the community as a whole and continue the progress the board has been making in recent years.

The board voted 10-0 to elect Ms. Padgett as vice president of the board.

Also at Saturday morning's meeting, the board, under the advisement of attorney Peter Fletcher, set meeting dates and times for the Board of Education for the next two years.

The board will meet the second Thursday of each month, holding its committee meetings at 7 p.m. and its regular board meetings no earlier than 7:30 p.m.

The meetings will take place at the Richmond County Board of Education offices, located at 2083 Heckle St.

Reach Justin Martin at (706) 823-3552.


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us