Originally created 10/17/00

Award winner to be announced

The inaugural Ray Guy Award winner will be announced on ESPN's college football awards show Dec. 7, the Greater Augusta Sports Council said Monday.

The ESPN show originates from the Walt Disney World complex in Orlando, Fla., and will be broadcast from 9-11 p.m. Ten other individual awards, including the Maxwell, Davey O'Brien, Outland, Jim Thorpe and Doak Walker, are scheduled to be given that Thursday night.

"We're especially excited because this is our first year in presenting this," said Tammy Stout, the council's executive director. "ESPN tells us that it's the first time they've included a first-year award on their show. We were persistent in getting this award included, and it's paid off. This takes our program and award to a new national level."

The Ray Guy Award winner also will be honored at the Augusta Sports Gala on Dec. 12 at the Radisson Riverfront Hotel. Oakland Raiders owner Al Davis is scheduled to be the keynote speaker on a night that merges the Council's G.A.M.E.S. medals to local athletes with the Ray Guy Award.

"We asked Ray who we could bring to the area that would mean the most to him, and he said Al Davis," Council president Ed Presnell said.

Guy, a six-time All-Pro punter from Thomson, Ga., will help conduct a kicking camp for children ages 12-17 at Lions Field in North Augusta on Dec. 11. Those wishing to attend either the banquet or the camp may call the Council at 722-8326 for more information.

Ray Guy Award watch list, listed alphabetically

Jason Baker, Iowa

Brooks Barnard, Maryland

Ray Cheetany, UNLV

Mike Clark, Houston

Keith Cottrel, Florida State

Alan Cox, Washington State

Kurtis Doerr, Oregon

Travis Dorsch, Purdue

Damon Duval, Auburn

Dan [filtered word], Georgia Tech

Jeff Edwards, Boise State

Hayden Epstein, Michigan

Mark Fazzolari, West Virginia

Jeff Ferguson, Oklahoma

Nate Fiske, UCLA

Steve Fitts, Illinois

Preston Gruening, Minnesota

Dan Hadenfeldt, Nebraska

Nick Harris, California

Curtis Head, Marshall

Joey Hildbold, Notre Dame

Jonathan Kilgo, Georgia

Reagan King, Mississippi

Andy Kohl, New Mexico State

David Leaverton, Tennessee

Casey Lipscomb, Tulsa

Mike MacGillivray, Southern Cal

Kevin McMyler, Boston College

Brian Morton, Duke

Steve Mullins, Utah State

Nick Murphy, Arizona State

Joey Pelfanio, Kansas

Chris Palic, Arizona

Alan Rhine, Florida

Casey Roussel, Tulane

Andy Shatley, Arkansas State

Matt Steffen, Western Michigan

Kevin Stemke, Wisconsin

Colin Vadheim, SMU

David Zastudil, Ohio U.


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us