Originally created 08/11/00

Local shows



FLASHBACK FESTIVAL, FEATURING EVELYN "CHAMPAGNE" KING, BT EXPRESS, BROTHERS JOHNSON, BRICK AND CONFUNKSHUN: 7 tonight, Augusta-Richmond County Civic Center; 828-7700.

LYNYRD SKYNYRD, PAT TRAVERS, TONIC AND IMPULSE RIDE: Sunday, Barton Field, Fort Gordon; gates open at 3:30 p.m.; $20 in advance, $25 at gate, advance tickets available at Regions Bank offices, Pump 'N Shop stores, Fort Gordon Federal Credit Union, PX customer service, the Gordon Club, Gordon Lanes Bowling Center, or online at http://www.fortgordon.com; call 791-6779.

NEXT FRIDAY COMEDY TOUR, WITH DC CURRY AND J WITHERSPOON: 7:30 p.m. Sunday, Sept. 3, Bell Auditorium; $27.50-$29.50; 828-7700.

STOP SCHOOL VIOLENCE GOSPEL JAM WITH MARY MARY: 7 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 9, Bell Auditorium; $17; 828-7700.

GEORGE JONES: 8 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 11, Bell Auditorium; $30.50; 828-7700.

JOHN PIZZARELLI: Friday, Dec. 8, Bell Auditorium; 828-7700.

This week

THE MANHATTAN TRANSFER: Tonight, Chastain Park Amphitheatre, Atlanta.

SOUP: Tonight, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.

TONY BENNETT AND DIANA KRALL: Saturday, Chastain Park Amphitheatre, Atlanta.

DEZERAY'S HAMMER: Saturday, Atlanta Music Conference, Atlanta.

GLENN CAMPBELL: 3 and 8 p.m. Saturday, Newberry Opera House, Newberry, S.C.

BLANKS 77: Wednesday, The Masquerade, Atlanta.

Looking ahead

THE SAMPLES: 8 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 19, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.

COSMIC CHARLIE: 9 p.m. Friday, Aug. 25, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.

WADE HAYES: Friday, Aug. 25, Palomino, Columbia.

JENNIFER NETTLES BAND: 9 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 26, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.

THE GEORGIA CHAMBER ORCHESTRA: 3 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 27, Newberry Opera House, Newberry, S.C.

DIXIE CHICKS: Sunday, Aug. 27, Philips Arena, Atlanta.

2000 MONTREUX ATLANTA MUSIC FESTIVAL: 6:30 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 27; Roberta Flack, George Duke, Al Jarreau, David Sanborn and Joe Sample; Chastain Park Amphitheatre, Atlanta.

POISON, CINDERELLA, DOKKEN AND SLAUGHTER: 6 p.m. Friday, Sept. 1, Special Events Center, Greensboro, N.C.

VERTICAL HORIZON: Tuesday, Sept. 5, University of Georgia, Athens.

THE BLACK WATCH AND THE PRINCE OF WALE'S BAND: Thursday, Sept. 14, North Charleston Coliseum, North Charleston, S.C.

JUNIOR BROWN: Friday, Sept. 15, 40 Watt Club, Athens, Ga.

THE WHO: Thursday, Sept. 28, Philips Arena, Atlanta.

MACEO PARKER: Saturday, Sept. 30, Georgia Theatre, Athens.

KENNY ROGERS: Thursday, Oct. 5, South Carolina State Fair, Columbia.

JIM BRICKMAN: Saturday, Oct. 7, North Charleston Performing Arts Center, North Charleston, S.C.

JARS OF CLAY: Saturday, Oct. 7, South Carolina State Fair, Columbia.

LORETTA LYNN: Wednesday, Oct. 11, South Carolina State Fair, Columbia.

AVALON AND 4 HIM: Friday, Oct. 13, South Carolina State Fair, Columbia.

TRAVIS TRITT: Sunday, Oct. 15, South Carolina State Fair, Columbia.

WILLIE NELSON: Saturday, Oct. 21, Classic Center, Athens, Ga.

EDDIE MILES: Saturday, Oct. 21, Newberry Opera House, Newberry, S.C.

OZARK JUBILEE WITH DUFUS DOOLITTLE: Thursday, Oct. 26, Newberry Opera House, Newberry, S.C.

DR. RALPH STANLEY AND THE CLINCH MOUNTAIN BOYS: Sunday, Dec. 31, Bill's Music Shop, Columbia.