Originally created 03/02/00

Patterson, Price earn top honors

ASHEVILLE, N.C. -- Appalachian State University's Tyson Patterson was named the Southern Conference player of the year Wednesday and Georgia Southern's Jeff Price was named the league's top coach.

Jarvis Hayes of Western Carolina was named the conference's freshman of the year.

Patterson, who led Appalachian State to the North Division title, topped the all-conference first team in voting by sports writers and broadcasters who cover the conference.

The first team also includes College of Charleston's Jody Lumpkin, Stephen Marshall of Davidson, Demetrius Cherry of UNC-Greensboro and Ian Chadwick of Wofford.

The second team features Rufus Leach of Appalachian State, former Butler High standout Jeff Bolton, now with the College of Charleston, Rashun Coleman of Chattanooga, Landry Kosmalski of Davidson and Julius Jenkins of Georgia Southern.

The third team consists of Oliver Morton of Chattanooga, Karim Souchu of Furman, Hamp Jones of Georgia Southern and Dondrell Whitmore and Jarvis Hayes of Western Carolina.


Trending this week:


© 2017. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us