Originally created 12/23/99

U.S. women's soccer team among honorees

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- The World Cup champion women's soccer team, Tour de France winner Lance Armstrong and record-setting swimmer Jenny Thompson were honored Tuesday by the U.S. Olympic Committee.

The soccer team was selected as Team of the Year, while Armstrong won Sportsman of the Year and Thompson was picked as Sportswoman of the Year.

The awards are presented annually by the USOC to outstanding members of America's Olympic movement.

"We are proud to honor Lance, Jenny and the U.S. women's national soccer team for their outstanding accomplishments in 1999," said USOC president Bill Hybl.

Voters included the USOC's Board of Directors, Executive Committee, Athletes' Advisory Council and members of the national media. Winners are selected from nominations provided by the national governing bodies for Olympic and Pan American sports, as well as the affiliated and disabled sports organizations.

Other finalists for the 1999 awards were Andre Agassi and Maurice Greene for Sportsman of the Year; Michelle Akers and Serena Williams for Sportswoman of the Year; and the U.S. Postal Service cycling team and the U.S. women's national softball team for Team of the Year.


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us