Originally created 02/11/99


Who sets the pace for Augusta-Aiken's medical community? If you're a medical professional, send information on your promotion, activity or academic achievement to PACEMAKERS, c/o The Augusta Chronicle, P.O. Box 1928, Augusta, GA 30903-1928. Please include the name and phone number of a contact person.University Hospital

Vendie H. Hooks III has been named president of the University Hospital Medical Staff for 1999. Dr. Hooks was also recently appointed to the American Board of Colon and Rectal Surgery and is a member of the Richmond County Hospital Authority.

Other members of the University Hospital Medical Staff elected to serve as officers for 1999 are Dr. Ray Johnson, president-elect; Dr. C. Kathy Chance, vice president; Dr. P. Rao Kondur, vice president; Dr. Michael Holman, vice president; Dr. Gregory Ellison, secretary/treasurer; and Dr. Michael Willoughby and Dr. Lynn Tucker, at-large members of the executive committee.

The Volunteer Board of University Health kicked off its 50th year of service to University Hospital at its annual meeting Feb. 3 at Augusta Country Club.

Volunteers representing the past five decades presented a program on "Time Well Spent," highlighting milestones of each decade.

Service awards went to 70 volunteers. Inez Caldwell of North Augusta was honored for 12,000 cumulative hours of service.

Other volunteers honored for logging the most hours were: Mary Baxter and Amy Wehn, 3,000 cumulative hours; Martha Tanner, 3,500 cumulative hours, Charlotte Bennett, Marge Burkelman, Ellen Chambley and Helen Field, 4,000 cumulative hours; Mildred Weeks, 4,500 cumulative hours; Irene Paul, 5,000 cumulative hours, and Zu Hayes, 7,000 cumulative hours.

Volunteers recognized for their first 100 hours in one year were: Joyce Alspaugh, Garrett Alton, Bea Buncher, Billie Cargile, Helen Crews, Richard Hines, Elsie Mills, Serelle Newman, Eleanor Prince, Jane Scott, Mary Strain and Maxine Toole.

Awards for 500 cumulative hours went to Nell Brown, Miriam Culbertson, Mildred Fisher, Danna Gay, Sharon Glenn, Lydia Griffith, Jo Ann Lundquist, Bobbie McKnight, Helen Morris, Nancy Pierce, Doris Poston, Helen Smith, Elaine Swearingen, Gene Tallent, Nellie Weatherford and Thelma Williams.

Pins for 1,000 cumulative hours were awarded to Linda Altee, Joe Burke, Florence Da Vitte, Bennie Godwin, Sandra Griffin, Edith Hart, Sarah Jones, Harriet Memel, Frances Messick, Melba Miner, Marthe Odell, Florence Ramsay, Ada Stillwell, Dot Tallent and Dot Wallace.

Myrtle Carter, Ann Chumley and Mary Wilson were recognized for 1,500 cumulative hours, and Dot Aiken, Carol Asbridge, Joan Cameron, Lorena Daniels and Ruth Warr were honored for 2,000 cumulative hours.

Honored for 2,500 cumulative hours were Margaret Callicott, Elease Morgan, Mary Oglesby, Midge Swearingen, Allean Thompson and Elizabeth Wisham.

ElsewhereJeanette G. Cummings, director of the CSRA Regional Development Council Department of Aging, has been awarded status as a certified diplomat of the American Psychotherapy Association.

Dr. Thomas A. Parfenchuck of Augusta was recently inducted as a fellow of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons during ceremonies at the Academy's 66th annual meeting in Anaheim, Calif.

Paine College representatives at the annual meeting of the Society of Toxicology in New Orleans will include Assistant Professor of Biology Linda James and Paine students Natalia Foley, Kristini Miles, Charlene Rutland and Latoshia Wells. An opening reception will be held for the participants on Saturday, March 13.


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us