Originally created 02/13/98

Concert watch



Tickets for all events can be purchased by calling Augusta Ticketmaster, 828-7700, unless otherwise noted. Ticketmaster outlets are Home Folks stores, Blockbuster Music stores and Publix supermarkets. Other events have separate telephone listings.

Local shows

JESSYE NORMAN: Augusta native and premier operatic soprano performs today at Paine College's Gilbert-Lambuth Memorial Chapel; $50 general admission, $25 for students from other schools; available at Paine College business office; credit-card orders at 821-8317. Call 821-8231 for information.

GOSPEL GREATS POWER '98 TOUR: Sunday, March 22, Augusta-Richmond County Civic Center.

DAMN YANKEES: National touring company production of Broadway favorite; 8 p.m. Tuesday, March 24, Bell Auditorium, 712 Telfair St.; $16.50, $26.50, $30.50.

This week

JUPITER COYOTE/UNCLE MINGO: Today, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta. BEE GEE'S HOOT NIGHT: Today, Masquerade, Atlanta.

STEVE EARLE: Saturday, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.

JIMMY BUFFETT: Saturday, Charlotte Coliseum, Charlotte, N.C.

QUIET RIOT: Saturday, Masquerade, Atlanta.

OREGON: Sunday, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.

STEEL PULSE: Monday, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.

HEPCAT: Tuesday, Masquerade, Atlanta.

THE CRYSTAL METHOD: Thursday, Masquerade, Atlanta.

Looking ahead

RIVERDANCE: THE SHOW: Through Feb. 22, Atlanta Civic Center.

THE PIETASTERS: Friday, Feb. 20, Masquerade, Atlanta.

LEFTOVER SALMON: Friday, Feb. 20, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.

AGENTS OF GOOD ROOTS/STRANGEFOLK: Saturday, Feb. 21, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.

BULLHEAD CLAP/KNUT: Saturday, Feb. 21, Masquerade, Atlanta.

PATTY LARKIN: Sunday, Feb. 22, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.

THE MISFITS: Wednesday, Feb. 25, Masquerade, Atlanta.

ALTAN: Thursday, Feb. 26, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.

BEN HARPER: Friday, Feb. 27, and Saturday, Feb. 28, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.

MILLER'S TALE: Saturday, Feb. 28, Masquerade, Atlanta.

SELDOM SCENE: Sunday, March 1, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.

HARRY CONNICK JR.: Monday, March 2, Fox Theatre, Atlanta.

HARRY CONNICK JR.: Tuesday, March 3, Ovens Auditorium, Charlotte, N.C.

JASON BONHAM BAND: Wednesday, March 4, Masquerade, Atlanta.

JONNY LANG: Wednesday, March 4, The Ritz, Raleigh, N.C.

JONNY LANG: Sunday, March 8, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.

FIONA APPLE: Sunday, March 15, War Memorial Auditorium, Greensboro, N.C.

TAP DOGS: March 17-22, Fox Theatre, Atlanta; tickets available Feb. 1 at TicketMaster outlets.

SARAH McLACHLAN/LISA LOEB: Wednesday, March 25, Independence Arena, Charlotte, N.C.

MEGADETH: Thursday, March 26, Masquerade, Atlanta.

CHERRY POPPIN' DADDIES/MAD CADDIES: Saturday, March 28, Masquerade, Atlanta.

Ticketmaster tips

When tickets for big shows go on sale, making sure you get seats can be a problem. Here are the ups and downs of the ticketpurchasing options.

Civic Center:

Ups: No service charge. Downs: The civic center box office sells tickets only for events at the center and at Bell Auditorium.

Outlets:

Ups: The lines move fairly quickly. Downs: Service charges.

Charge-by-phone:

Ups: Convenience. Downs: Service charges.