Originally created 12/19/97

Concert watch



Tickets for all events can be purchased by calling Augusta Ticketmaster, 828-7700, unless otherwise noted. Ticketmaster outlets are Home Folks stores, Blockbuster Music stores and Publix supermarkets. Other events have separate telephone listings.

Local shows

  • CHRISTMAS COMEDY JAM/ALL ABOUT YOU TOUR: Featuring Ali LeRoi, Bernie Mac and Chris Thomas; 8 p.m. Saturday, Augusta-Richmond County Civic Center, 601 Seventh St.; advance tickets $23.50, $20.50 and $18.50, or $26, $23 and $21 day of show, available at Civic Center box office and TicketMaster outlets; charge by phone at 828-7700.
  • JESSYE NORMAN: Augusta native and premier operatic soprano performs Feb. 13 at Paine College's Gilbert-Lambuth Memorial Chapel; $50 general admission, $25 for students from other schools; available at Paine College business office Jan. 5; credit card orders at 821-8317. Call 821-8231 for information.
  • GOSPEL GREATS POWER '98 TOUR: March 22, Augusta-Richmond County Civic Center.
  • This week

  • SLACKERS/SKINNERBOX: Today, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • PATTI SMITH GROUP: Saturday, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.
  • OBITUARY: Saturday, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • JANE OLIVOR: Sunday, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.
  • ZAMBILAND ORCHESTRA: Monday, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.
  • Looking ahead

  • SKAVOOVE AND THE EPITONES: Saturday, Dec. 27, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • MOTHER OF ALL NEW YEAR'S BALLS: Wednesday, Dec. 31, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • MEPHISKAPHELES: Friday, Jan. 9, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • JUNKMAN'S ATTIC: Saturday, Jan. 10, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • ROCKET 88: Sunday, Jan. 11, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • GOSPEL GREATS POWER '98 TOUR: Friday, Jan. 15, Martin Luther King Arena, Savannah.
  • WRESTLE ROCK: Thursday, Jan. 15, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • GRAND FUNK RAILROAD: Thursday, Jan. 21, Ovens Auditorium, Charlotte, N.C.
  • DEL THA FUNKY HOMOSAPIEN: Friday, Jan. 23, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • AEROSMITH: Saturday, Jan. 24, North Charleston Coliseum, North Charleston, S.C.
  • GOSPEL GREATS POWER '98 TOUR: Saturday, Jan. 24, Civic Center Auditorium, Atlanta.
  • KISS ARMY: Saturday, Jan. 24, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • THE ANTI-HEROES: Sunday, Jan. 25, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • AEROSMITH: Thursday, Jan. 29, Carolina Coliseum, Columbia.
  • BOW WOW WOW: Friday, Jan. 30, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • AEROSMITH: Saturday, Jan. 31, Greensboro Coliseum, Greensboro, N.C.
  • GOSPEL GREATS POWER '98 TOUR: Wednesday, Feb. 3, Civic Center, Albany, Ga.
  • THE AMAZING ROYAL CROWNS: Saturday, Feb. 7, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • GOSPEL GREATS POWER '98 TOUR: Monday, Feb. 8, Civic Center, Columbus, Ga.
  • RIVERDANCE: THE SHOW: Feb. 5-22, Atlanta Civic Center.
  • THE DAMNED: Thursday, Wednesday, Feb. 11, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • JIMMY BUFFETT: Saturday, Feb. 14, Charlotte Coliseum, Charlotte, N.C.