Originally created 07/05/97

Peachtree: Last year's winners finish first again

ATLANTA (AP) - Kenya's Joseph Kimani, for the second time in as many years, won the 10-kilometer Peachtree Road Race today.

Kimani finished with an unofficial time of 27:43, short of his record-breaking time of 27:04 set during last year's race.

Another Kenyan, Hellen Kimaiyo-Kipkoskei, won the women's competition for the second year in a row. Her unofficial time was 31:21, falling short of the course record 30:52 she set last year.

This was the first time in more than a decade that a men's runner won back-to-back races. The last time was in 1981 when Craig Virgin finished first for a third straight year. In the women's competition, Grete Waitz won back-to-back races in 1985-86.

This year among men, Kahlid Khannouchi of Morrocco finished second in 27:58 followed by Godfrey Kiprotich of Kenya, 28:12.

Among women, Colleen de Reuck of South Africa finished second in 31:32 followed by Libbie Hickman of Fort Collins, Colo., 31:34.

In the wheelchair division, Switzerland's Franz Nietelispach set a new record, finishing first in 19:08 followed by Mexico's Saul Mendoza in 19:30. Six-time winner Craig Blanchette of Cheney, Wash., finished third in 19:32.

Australian Louise Sauvage won the women's wheelchair competition in 25:04 followed by Cheri Becerra of Nelson City, Neb., 25:47, and Julia Wallace of Rumson, N.J., 25:48.

With temperatures in the mid-70s, more than 50,000 runners partook in the 28th annual race through Atlanta.


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.    | Contact Us