Originally created 01/17/97

Concert Watch



Tickets for all events can be purchased by calling Augusta Ticketmaster, 828-7700, unless otherwise noted. Handling fees vary by performance. Ticketmaster outlets are Home Folks stores (Southgate, Columbia Square and Camelia Plaza in Thomson), Blockbuster Music stores (Wrightsboro and Washington roads) and Publix supermarkets. Other events have separate telephone listings.

This week

  • THE ARTIST FORMERLY KNOWN AS PRINCE: Today, Hornets Training Center, Charlotte, N.C.
  • DRILL: Saturday, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • VERVE JAZZFEST: Saturday, Atlanta Symphony Hall.
  • THE ARTIST FORMERLY KNOWN AS PRINCE: Sunday, Atlanta Live, Atlanta.
  • Looking ahead

  • LAURIE ANDERSON: Friday, Jan. 24, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.
  • MERL SAUNDERS AND THE RAIN FOREST BAND: Saturday, Jan. 25, Atlanta's Variety Playhouse.
  • SWANS, LOW: Wednesday, Jan. 29, Atlanta's Variety Playhouse.
  • NY LOOSE, REV. HORTON HEAT: Thursday, Jan. 30, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • SMASHING PUMPKINS: Saturday, Feb. 1, Charlotte Coliseum, Charlotte, N.C.
  • MEMORY DEAN: Saturday, Feb. 1, Cotton Club, Atlanta.
  • JOHN McCUTCHEON: Sunday, Feb. 2, Atlanta's Variety Playhouse.
  • GOLDFINGER: Monday, Feb. 3, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • BUDWEISER LOWCOUNTRY BLUES BASH: Feb. 7-16, Charleston, S.C.; performance prices from free to $10; write Blues Bash, P.O. Box 13525, Charleston S.C. 29422, or call Blues Bash hot line, (803) 762-9124.
  • MOE: Friday, Feb. 7, Atlanta's Variety Playhouse.
  • SHERYL CROW: Friday, Feb. 7, and Saturday, Feb. 8, Roxy Theatre, Atlanta.
  • DAVE MATTHEWS AND TIM REYNOLDS: Friday, Feb. 7, Township Auditorium, Columbia.
  • WILCO: Saturday, Feb. 8, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.
  • DAVE MATTHEWS AND TIM REYNOLDS: Saturday, Feb. 8, Memorial Auditorium, Spartanburg, S.C.
  • GOSPEL SHOWCASE: Sunday, Feb. 9, Bell Auditorium.
  • COUNTING CROWS: Monday, Feb. 10, Classic Center Theatre, Athens, Ga.
  • THE CARDIGANS: Tuesday, Feb. 11, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.
  • RINGLING BROTHERS/BARNUM & BAILEY CIRCUS: Tuesday, Feb. 11, and Wednesday, Feb. 12, Augusta-Richmond County Civic Center.
  • CLASSIC VALENTINE CONCERT: Friday, Feb. 14, Atlanta Civic Center.
  • GRACIE MOON: Friday, Feb. 14, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.
  • STUCK MOJO: Friday, Feb. 14, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • LEFTOVER SALMON: Saturday, Feb. 15, and Sunday, Feb. 16, Variety Playhouse, Atlanta.
  • LOCAL H: Saturday, Feb. 15, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • KENNY G, TONI BRAXTON: Friday, Feb. 21, Greensboro Coliseum, Greensboro, N.C.
  • JOHN DENVER: Friday, Feb. 21, Fox Theater, Atlanta.
  • CHAKA KHAN: Friday, Feb. 21, Atlanta Civic Center.
  • KIRK FRANKLIN: Saturday, Feb. 22, Atlanta Civic Center.
  • KENNY G, TONI BRAXTON: Saturday, Feb. 22, Carolina Coliseum, Columbia.
  • BROKEN HOPE, VADER, MONSTROCITY: Saturday, Feb. 22, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • DREAD ZEPPELIN: Saturday, March 1, Masquerade, Atlanta.
  • Ticketmaster tips
    When tickets for big shows go on sale, making sure you get seats can be a problem. Here are the ups and downs of the ticket purchasing options.
    Civic Center: Ups: No service charge. Downs: The civic center box office sells tickets only for events at the center and at Bell Auditorium.
    Outlets: Ups: The lines move fairly quickly. Downs: Service charges.
    Charge-by-phone:Ups: Convenience. Downs: Service charges.