Originally created 12/29/96

1996 Local deaths



Mrs. Annette Johnson, 77, retired Richmond County schoolteacher, died Tuesday, Jan. 2, 1996.

Dr. Donald C. Abele, 63, professor emeritus of dermatology at Medical College of Georgia Hospital, died Wednesday, Jan. 3, 1996. Dr. Abele co-founded the Southeastern Consortium for Dermatologic Education.

Mrs. Adrienne Brown, 45, wife of singer James Brown, died Saturday, Jan. 6, 1996. Mrs. Brown had worked as a makeup artist for the television shows Solid Gold, Days of Our Lives and The Young and the Restless

Mr. Amon McCormack Sr., 89, retired senior vice president of Citizens & Southern Bank, died Sunday, Jan. 7, 1996.

Mr. George C. Leverett Jr., 80, retired president and chief executive officer of Farmers State Bank, Lincolnton, died Sunday, Jan. 14, 1996.

Mr. Ira G. Dillon, of Aiken, a retired professor and head of the department of chemical engineering at Tuskegee Institute, died Monday, Jan. 15, 1996.

Mr. Ralph Hawkins, 67, a McDuffie County magistrate court judge, died Wednesday, Jan. 17, 1996, at Augusta Regional Medical Center.

Mr. John F. "Jack" Livingston, 69, of Aiken, retired vice president of manufacturing at the Graniteville Co., died Sunday, Jan. 21, 1996, at University Hospital.

Mr. Z. Boyce Mangum, 88, of Evans, retired vice president of operations at Graniteville Co., died Sunday, Jan. 21, 1996.

Mr. Joseph Hyatt Bell, 69, a retired bank executive with Citizens & Southern Bank and Wachovia Bank, died Wednesday, Jan. 24, 1996.

Mr. Calvin Wilson, former chief of staff at Fort Gordon, died Tuesday, Jan. 30, 1996.

Mr. N.F. Manly Jr., 80, former mayor, died Wednesday, Jan. 31, 1996.

Dr. Gerhard Dessauer, 85, Manhattan Project researcher, died Sunday, Feb. 10, 1996, in Savannah.

Essie McIntyre, 83, Augusta's first black, female preacher, died Monday, Feb. 13, 1996.

Dr. Rufus Floyd Payne, 86, professor of medicine, emeritus, and founding director of the former Eugene Talmadge Memorial Hospital, the teaching hospital of the Medical College of Georgia, died Sunday, Feb. 18, 1996.

Mr. Herbert Charles Ashline, 56, professor and chairman of the department of chemistry at Claflin College, Orangeburg, S.C., died Thursday, Feb. 22, 1996.

Mrs. Ouida Wood Weldon, 89, a retired Augusta College librarian, died Friday, March 8, 1996.

Dr. Charles Iverson Bryans Jr., 76, former vice chairman of the department of obstetrics and gynecology at the Medical College of Georgia, died Sunday, April 21, 1996.

Mrs. Christine Warner Attaway, 49, city of Augusta Department of Inspections head, died Thursday, May 23, 1996.

Apostle Fleming Smith, 45, pastor and district chairman of the United House of Prayer, died Tuesday, May 21, 1996.

Mr. Marvin Thomas Woodward, 76, retired Richmond County coroner, died Friday, June 7, 1996.

Mr. Roy Rollins, retired Richmond County school superintendent, 88, died Friday, Aug. 2, 1996.

Mr. John R. Kelly, 38, of Beech Island, owner and founder of J.R. Kelly & Sons and a former school council member, died Saturday, Sept. 14, 1996.

Mr. E. Marion Menger, 72, of North Augusta, "voice of the North Augusta Yellow Jackets" for 32 years and a former city councilman, died Monday, Sept. 16, 1996.

Mr. William Lawrence Manning Knox Sr., 82, of Evans, a retired businessman, died Monday, Sept. 23, 1996.

Dr. Mercer Brannon Sell Jr., 74, of Augusta, a physician and psychiatrist, died Monday, Sept. 23, 1996.

Dr. A. Joseph Green, 69, of Augusta, a physician and MCG professor, died Saturday, Sept. 28, 1996.

Mr. George Bayard Snelling Jr., 55, of Martinez, a defense attorney, died Monday, Oct. 7, 1996.

Gerald Hope Achenbach, 86, of Vidalia, Ga., former president and chairman of the board of Piggly Wiggly Southern, died Sunday, Oct. 20, 1996.

Dr. Clyde A. Burgamy, 70, a founding physician of Columbia Augusta Medical Center who delivered thousands of babies during his 40-year career, died Sunday, Oct. 27, 1996.

Mr. Roscoe Coleman, 85, of Thomson, a farmer, businessman and legislator, died Monday, Oct. 28, 1996.

Dr. Chester E. Hendrich, of North Augusta, a professor of physiology and endocrinology at the Medical College of Georgia, died Saturday, Nov. 2, 1996.

Mr. Thomas Law, 85, of North Augusta, a former North Augusta city councilman, died Saturday, Nov. 30, 1996.

Dr. John Gerhardt Schaeffer Jr., 53, organist at Reid Memorial Presbyterian Church and former acting chairman of the Augusta College Department of Fine Arts, died Saturday Nov. 30, 1996.

Mr. David T.S. Jones, 70, of Westminster, S.C., an artist and sculptor, died Saturday, Nov. 30, 1996. He was a former director of the Gertrude Herbert Institute of Art and assistant professor of Art History at Augusta College.

Peter Seymour Knox III, 61, of Augusta, chairman and chief executive officer of Merry Land and Investment Co. Inc., died Sunday, Dec. 8, 1996.

Mr. H. Creech Sanders, 77, mayor of Barnwell, S.C., died Monday, Dec. 9, 1996.

Mrs. Sina Cornelius Howard Harris, 109, of Mesena, Ga., died Saturday, Dec. 7, 1996.

Mr. Josef C. Patchen, 84, of Augusta, founder of several local engineering firms, died Saturday, Dec. 14, 1996.



AllAccess


Trending this week:



 
 

The Augusta Chronicle © 2015. All Rights Reserved.  Contact Us  | Terms of Service  | Privacy Policy  | Advertise