Stafford NFL's comeback player of the year

  • Follow NFL

Detroit Lions quarterback Matthew Stafford has won the 2011 Associated Press NFL Comeback Player of the Year award.

The former University of Georgia quarterback beat out six other players who received votes from a nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the league.

Stafford fought through injuries his first two seasons, then threw for more than 5,000 yards in 2011 to lead Detroit to its first playoff berth in 12 years.

Stafford received 21 votes, six more than Cleveland linebacker D'Qwell Jackson. San Francisco quarterback Alex Smith finished third, followed by Carolina receiver Steve Smith, Denver defensive end Elvis Dumervil, New England defensive end Andre Carter and Giants quarterback Eli Manning.

Stafford is the first Lion and the ninth quarterback to win the award since its inception in 1998.

Top headlines

Vogtle workers see both reactor projects

Some veterans of the nuclear industry were at the site south of Augusta to see the complex network of rebar and concrete rising out of the ground in the 1970s and ’80s. Now, they are back.
Search Augusta jobs