Burke County, Thomson standouts earn region awards

Two Burke County standouts represented the undefeated Bears in the Region 3-AAAA awards released this week.


Burke County’s Damari Kelly was named the region’s player of the year. Kelly has been one of the Bears’ top athletes the past couple seasons and helped guide them to a 27-24 victory over Thomson on Oct. 27 to remain perfect and win the region title.

Bears co-quarterback Bill Knight won the region’s offensive player of the year award. Knight has been one of the team’s top rushers and a leader under center.

Thomson’s Christian Tutt earned the region’s athlete of the year. The star defensive back and all-around force has been one of the state’s top players the past couple seasons.

Hephzibah’s William Harrell was recognized for helping turn around the Rebel program by winning coach of the year. The Rebels had their highest win total since 2014 and fought throughout the season for a playoff berth before ultimately falling just short, while the culture of the program has become a positive.

Baldwin’s Milton Adams won defensive player of the year and Baldwin’s Lucas Webb took special teams player of the year.

Region 3-AAAA First Team


Mills Ridings, Thomson

Tyrek Braswell, Thomson

Rayquan Riley, Hephzibah

Malik Knowles, Richmond Academy

Jatavious Harris, Baldwin

Marcus Cade, Thomson

Devon Hicks, Cross Creek

Clydell White III, Richmond Academy

Dallas Rogers, Burke County

A.J. Grant, Thomson

Austin Milner, Burke County

Donovan Williams, Thomson

Jacoby Roberson, Burke County

Christian Coulter, Thomson

Corby McIntire, Hephzibah

Tykel Pitts, Baldwin

Kellan Weathers, Richmond Academy

Judson Pickett, Richmond Academy


Marcello Snelling, Burke County

Jacorey Crawford, Thomson

Donte Justice, Baldwin

D.T. Stephens, Richmond Academy

Chad Crumbley, Burke County

Artest Banks, Thomson

Malik Joyner, Hephzibah

Chris Hurst, Baldwin

Xzavious Lewis, Thomson

Akeem Miles, Cross Creek

Elijah Mayes, Hephzibah

Myles Simon, Burke County

Anthony Lovett, Burke County

Anthony Larkins, Burke County

Aaron Kelsey, Baldwin

Jatyrin Hooks, Baldwin

Max Lockwood, Hephzibah



Thu, 12/14/2017 - 22:30

Fishing Tournaments

Thu, 12/14/2017 - 22:31