Warriors rally from 10-point deficit

Grovetown 31, Harlem 10

PLAY OF THE GAME: Grovetown QB Xavier Crain connected with Travon Biggers on a post pattern and Biggers raced 70 yards for a touchdown to put the Warriors ahead 21-10 in the second quarter.

STAR OF THE GAME: Biggers scored two TDs, including a 65-yard kickoff return in the fourth quarter to give the Warriors a 31-10 lead.

WHY HARLEM LOST: The Bulldogs had almost as many penalties (13 for 112 yards) as total yards in the second half (15).

WHY GROVETOWN WON: After spotting Harlem a 10-0 lead in the first quarter, the Warriors exploded with 21 second-quarter points in a 3:25 span.

QUOTABLE: "We've been preaching to our guys that it's the little things that matter. We're getting there a little bit at a time. We're 13 points away from being 5-0." -- Grovetown coach Rodney Holder

NEXT: Thomson at Harlem, Friday, 7:30 p.m.; Grovetown at Westside, Friday, 7:30.

Grovetown 31, Harlem 10

Harlem 10 0 0 0 - 10
Grovetown 0 21 2 8 - 31

First Quarter
H-Taylor Camp 25 field goal, 8:58
H-Zachary McIntire 58 run (Bryce McDaniel kick), 1:09

Second Quarter
G-Jamal Cummings 12 run (Gerardo Revelas kick), 10:29
G-D.J. Tyson 12 run (Revelas kick), 8:53
G-Travon Biggers 70 pass from Xavier Crain (Revelas kick), 7:04

Third Quarter
G-Logan May tackled in end zone, 2:04

Fourth Quarter
G-Logan May tackled in end zone, 10:38
G-Biggers 65 kickoff return (kick failed), 10:28

First Downs2023
Passing Yards681


RUSHING-Harlem: Zachary Minter 4-53, Taylor Mills 6-25, Tyler Thigpen 8-16, Michael McIntire 6-15, Dominic Taylor 2-10. Grovetown: Jamal Cummings 11-75, Xavier Crain 11-68, D.J. Tyson 11-51, Tae Miller 5-41.

PASSING-Harlem: Zachary Minter 1-4 6, Logan May 0-3 0, Alonzo Hill 0-1 0. Grovetown: Xavier Crain 3-7 81.

RECEIVING-Harlem: Taylor Camp 1-6. Grovetown: Brandon Travon Biggers 1-70, Tae Miller 1-7, D.J. Tyson 1-4.


Fri, 02/24/2017 - 23:46


Newberry quarterback and former Strom Thurmond standout Raleigh Yeldell accepted the NCAA Division II Offensive Player of the Year award from the Eastern College Athletic Conference on Thursday night during a banquet at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J. Read more