Sports Illustrated reports it was David Eger, a rules expert who has worked for the U.S. Golf Association and the PGA Tour and played in the 1989 Masters as an amateur.
On the par-5 15th hole in the second round at Augusta National, Woods hit the pin with his third shot and it caromed back into the water.
Under rule 26-1-a, Woods was required to drop “as nearly as possible” to the ball’s previous position
“I could see there was a divot – not a divot, a divot hole – when he played the shot the second time that was not there the first time,” said Eger. “I played it again and again. I could see that the fairway was spotless the first time he played the shot and there was that divot hole, maybe three or four feet in front of where he played after the drop.”
Eger contacted a PGA Tour rules official at the Masters, who relayed it to Fred Ridley, chair of the Masters competition committees.
Ridley determined that Woods had done nothing wrong. When Ridley realized later Woods had made an illegal drop, he met with Woods Saturday morning and assessed him a two-shot penalty. Woods tied for fourth place, four shots out of the playoff.