Bulldogs favored in SEC East

Thursday, July 18, 2013 11:34 AM
Last updated 8:09 PM
  • Follow College

 After the University of Georgia came up 5 yards short of beating the University of Alabama in the Southeastern Conference championship game, the media that cover the league are predicting the Bulldogs will get another shot against the Crimson Tide this season.

Georgia coach Mark Richt talks with reporters during the Southeastern Conference football Media Days.  ASSOCIATED PRESS
Georgia coach Mark Richt talks with reporters during the Southeastern Conference football Media Days.

“Oh, yeah, that would be nice,” senior defensive end Garrison Smith. “At the same time, it doesn’t matter who we play. If we make it to that point, whether it’s Alabama or Ole Miss or LSU or Mississippi State, it doesn’t matter.”

Georgia is seeking its third straight trip to the title game and first SEC title since 2005. The Bulldogs lost 32-28 to Alabama in the title game last season.

“Georgia is definitely back on the map,” quarterback Aaron Murray said.

Two-time defending national champion Alabama was the overwhelming choice to win the SEC, getting 182 of 243 votes. Georgia garnered 38, University of South Carolina 18, Texas A&M 4 and Louisiana State University 1.

Georgia got 149 votes to win the SEC East, followed by 75 for South Carolina and 19 for the University of Florida.

I knew it was going to be us Florida or South Carolina,” said coach Mark Richt, coming off a 12-2 season. “I think it was a tough call this year in particular with those three teams. And you never know what Tennessee will rise up and do or really any team for that matter. It will be interesting to see.”

Nine Georgia players made the preseason All-SEC team as voted on by the media.

Tailback Todd Gurley and tight end Arthur Lynch were first-team picks.

Tailback Keith Marshall, offensive guard Chris Burnette, linebacker Jordan Jenkins and cornerback Damian Swann made the second team.

Quarterback Aaron Murray, Smith and receiver Malcolm Mitchell are third-team selections.



First Team

QB: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M (119)

RB: T.J. Yeldon, Alabama (221)

RB: Todd Gurley, Georgia (206)

WR: Amari Cooper, Alabama (194)

WR: Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt (106)

TE: Arthur Lynch, Georgia (148)

OL: Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama (193)

OL: Jake Matthews, Texas A&M (176)

OL: Anthony Steen, Alabama (109)

OL: Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State (88)

C: Travis Swanson, Arkansas (92)

Second Team

QB: AJ McCarron, Alabama (67)

RB: Tre Mason, Auburn (15)

RB: LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State (12)

RB: Keith Marshall, Georgia (12)

WR: Donte Moncrief, Ole Miss ( 46)

WR: Mike Evans, Texas A&M (33)

TE: Rory Anderson, South Carolina (33)

OL: Antonio Richardson, Tennessee (76)

OL: Jon Halapio, Florida (51)

OL: Chris Burnette, Georgia (50)

OL: Ja’Wuan James, Tennessee (50)

C: Reese Dismukes, Auburn (33)

Third Team

QB: Aaron Murray, Georgia (52)

RB: Matt Jones, Florida (5)

RB: Jeff Scott, Ole Miss (5)

RB: Alfred Blue, LSU (5)

WR: Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia (28)

WR: Jarvis Landry, LSU (19)

TE: Brian Vogler, Alabama (18)

OL: La’el Collins, LSU (37)

OL: Josh Williford, LSU (30)

OL: Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt (18)

OL: A.J. Cann, South Carolina (14)

OL: Zach Fulton, Tennessee (14)

C: James Stone, Tennessee (30)

C: Jonotthan Harrison, Florida (30)


First Team

DL: Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina (223)

DL: Dominique Easley, Florida (162)

DL: Anthony Johnson, LSU (127)

DL: Chris Smith, Arkansas (56)

LB: C.J. Mosley, Alabama (231)

LB: A.J. Johnson, Tennessee (107)

LB: Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (94)

DB: Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama (203)

DB: Craig Loston, LSU (135)

DB: Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida (117)

DB: Deion Belue, Alabama (77)

Second Team

DL: Xzavier Dickson, Alabama (49)

DL: Ed Stinson, Alabama (39)

DL: Dee Ford, Auburn (38)

DL: Jeoffrey Pagan, Alabama (31)

LB: Adrian Hubbard, Alabama (66)

LB: Jordan Jenkins, Georgia (64)

LB: Lamin Barrow, LSU (29)

DB: Damian Swann, Georgia (70)

DB: Andre Hal, Vanderbilt (69)

DB: Marcus Roberson, Florida (50)

DB: Vinnie Sunseri, Alabama (36)

Third Team

DL: Garrison Smith, Georgia (26)

DL: Daniel McCullers, Tennessee (23)

DL: Alvin Dupree, Kentucky (23)

DL: C.J. Johnson, Ole Miss (22)

LB: Ronald Powell, Florida (24)

LB: Tahj Jones, LSU (20)

LB: Trey DePriest, Alabama (16)

LB: Avery Williamson, Kentucky (16)

DB: E.J. Gaines, Missouri (34)

DB: Charles Sawyer, Ole Miss (25)

DB: Jalen Mills, LSU (22)

DB: Chris Davis , Auburn (20)

Comments (4) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
Just My Opinion
Just My Opinion 07/18/13 - 11:54 am
Read this and you'll see why

Read this and you'll see why Richt is liked by so many different fans. He doesn't brag, is very humble, and gives respect to ALL teams.

soapy_725 07/18/13 - 12:44 pm
Dawgs have a good team and a cream puff schedule.

Dawgs have a good team and a cream puff schedule.

David Parker
David Parker 07/18/13 - 03:10 pm
Clowney should read it.

Clowney should read it.

justthefacts 07/18/13 - 03:45 pm
Davo Parker

Word is, Clowney can't read. His "tests" are read to him. Of course, he will have lots of attorneys and such to read his NFL contract next year.

etlinks 07/18/13 - 04:32 pm
Trash talk is good.

Ha Ha you guys are funny, like I always say time will tell. Go Cocks! 8/29/13 can't get here fast enough.

rmwhitley 07/18/13 - 05:33 pm
Clowney may

not be able to read but he and his teammates know how to stay away from guns, driving drunk on scooters, seados and vehicles.

Back to Top
Search Augusta jobs
Top headlines
Early voting in Augusta-area shows increase
Area early voting numbers are dwarfing turnout four years ago, particularly in Republican-leaning Columbia County, and forecast apossible record voting year for the Augusta area.