Louisiana Tech punter Ryan Allen wins Ray Guy Award

Senior punter wins second Ray Guy Award

Thursday, Dec. 6, 2012 10:15 PM
Last updated 10:25 PM
  • Follow College

After spending two years at Oregon State, Ryan Allen knew it’d be a long while before he ever saw any playing time.

Louisiana Tech senior Ryan Allen had 20 of his punts downed inside the 20-yard line.  JOHN RAOUX/ASSOCIATED PRESS
Louisiana Tech senior Ryan Allen had 20 of his punts downed inside the 20-yard line.

Roadblocked by punter Johnny Hekker, who’s now in his rookie season with the St. Louis Rams, Allen took fate into his own hands. After his redshirt freshman season, he transferred to Louisiana Tech. The move proved to be a success once again Thursday night.

Allen capped his career by winning his second consecutive Ray Guy Award on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show, broadcast on ESPN. Allen was awarded the trophy for the best punter in college football, beating out Florida’s Kyle Christy and Ball State’s Scott Kovanda for the honor.

Allen, a senior, became the first person to win back-to-back Ray Guy awards. Since the inception of the award in 2000, only Allen and Baylor’s Daniel Sepulveda (2004, 2006) have won multiple awards.

“It’s been crazy,” Allen said. “Lou­isiana Tech wasn’t my first choice. It’s been an unexpected journey.”

Allen will be honored by the Augusta Sports Council at The Augusta Chronicle’s All-Area Football Banquet, on Jan. 17, at the Legends Club. Last year, Allen couldn’t make it to Augusta due to his class schedule. This time, he said he’s coming.

“It was over the top busy for me,” he said. “For the Augusta Sports Council to recognize our position is important. We’re still trying to get respect for our position. It’s going to be a great honor to be out there.”

Allen, of Salem, Ore., led the nation with a 48.04 punting average – almost a yard better than second place. The Bulldog launched 21 of his 45 punts longer than 50 yards, with a long of 85. Twenty of his kicks were downed inside the 20, with none of his punts blocked.

The process for this year’s Ray Guy Award began with 55 nominees. That list was whittled down to 10 semifinals. In November, the sports council announced the finalists.


2000: Kevin Stemke, Wisconsin

2001: Travis Dorsch, Purdue

2002: Mark Mariscal, Colorado

2003: B.J. Sander, Ohio St.

2004: Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor

2005: Ryan Plackemeier, Wake Forest

2006: Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor

2007: Durant Brooks, Georgia Tech

2008: Matt Fodge, Oklahoma St.

2009: Drew Butler, Georgia

2010: Chas Henry, Florida

2011: Ryan Allen, La. Tech

2012: Ryan Allen, La. Tech

Source: augustasportscouncil.org

Comments (1) Add comment
ADVISORY: Users are solely responsible for opinions they post here and for following agreed-upon rules of civility. Posts and comments do not reflect the views of this site. Posts and comments are automatically checked for inappropriate language, but readers might find some comments offensive or inaccurate. If you believe a comment violates our rules, click the "Flag as offensive" link below the comment.
Bulldog 12/07/12 - 10:00 am
Greater Augusta Sports Council

The Greater Augusta Sports Council did a great thing when they created this award. I give Ed Presnell and Tammy Stout the lion's share of the credit for putting this national recognition together. It honors the greatest punter in history and gives recognition to a position which is under recognised. It also reflects a very positive light on Augusta.

Back to Top
Search Augusta jobs
Top headlines
New CEO of AUMC focusing on improving patient safety and satisfaction
New AU Medical Center CEO Lee Ann Liska has "truly hit the ground running" in her first two months and is already planning sweeping changes to improve patient safety and satisfaction, Augusta ...