Pacer golfers are still ranked No. 2

USC Aiken’s golf team remained No. 2 in the latest Golf World/Nike Golf Coaches’ Poll, as voted on by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

In the fall portion of their 2013-14 season, the Pacers had three top-three finishes along with a 13th-place finish.

The team picked up one first-place vote in the poll.


Bull Riding

Extra Inning event returns on Jan. 18

Tickets go on sale at 10 a.m. Friday for the annual USCA Extra Inning Bull Riding, scheduled for Jan. 18 at James Brown Arena.

The Augusta Cutting Horse Futurity plays host to the event, which features top bull riders from around the country.

Proceeds benefit the USC Aiken baseball team.

Tickets will be available online at georgialinatix.com, by phone at (877) 4AUGTIX and at the Champion’s Box Office at James Brown Arena.



Man U eliminated in Premier League

In Manchester, England, Manchester United was cut adrift in the Premier League title race after losing 1-0 at home to Everton thanks to Bryan Oviedo’s late strike at Old Trafford.

United manager David Moyes endured a frustrating evening against the club he left in the summer as left back Oviedo slotted home at the far post in the 86th minute after Romelu Lukaku flashed a deflected shot across the six-yard box.

It was Everton’s first win at Manchester United in 21 years.



De La Hoya heads ’14 hall inductees

Oscar De La Hoya, who won Olympic gold and became a champion in six weight divisions in winning 10 world titles, has been selected for induction into the International Boxing Hall of Fame.

De La Hoya headlines the class of 2014 announced Wednesday, and two of his contemporaries in the modern era – Puerto Rican star Felix “Tito” Trinidad and Joe Calzaghe, of Wales, – will join him on stage June 8 at the induction ceremony in Canastota, N.Y.

Joining the hard-punching trio are George Chaney, Charles Ledoux and Mike O’Dowd in the old-timer category, while Tom Allen is the lone honoree in the pioneer category.

The Hall of Fame’s 25th class also includes promoter Barry Hearn, referees Richard Steele and Eugene Corri, journalist Graham Houston and Sports Illustrated photographer Neil Leifer in the non-participant and observer categories.



Champions tabs Perry for award

Kenny Perry won the Jack Nicklaus Award as the Champions Tour Player of the Year after recording three victories this year; including back-to-back major titles.

Perry also claimed the season-long Charles Schwab Cup which recognizes the Champions Tour’s most consistent player.

Bernhard Langer won the Arnold Palmer Award as the Champions Tour’s leading money winner for a record fifth time, Fred Couples claimed the Byron Nelson Award as the Champions Tour scoring leader and Rocco Mediate was named Rookie of the Year.

Langer earned $2,448,428 in 24 starts in 2013, Couples had a 68.64 scoring average and Mediate won twice, including in his Champions Tour debut.



Mon, 02/19/2018 - 21:48