RiverHawks still without a victory

In Knoxville, Tenn., the Ice Bears kept Augusta winless, defeating the RiverHawks 4-2 Friday night in a Southern Professional Hockey League game.

The win was Knoxville’s second over Augusta (0-4-1) this season. The Ice Bears (4-1) won 3-2 in overtime last Saturday.

Berkley Scott, Shaun Arvai, Steve Wiedler and Matt Pierce scored for the Ice Bears in the rematch, Taylor McReynolds and Chris Waterstradt scored for the RiverHawks. Curtis Megginson, Branden Kosolofsky and Matt Puntureri had assists for Augusta.

The RiverHawks play host to Pensacola on Thursday.

• The NHL put the course of ongoing labor negotiations back in the hands of the players’ association, and left union head Donald Fehr with “some things to consider” Friday night.

The fourth consecutive day of negotiations provided few details, and the sides broke up in the early evening without knowing when they would reconvene.


College Volleyball

Lady Jags romp on senior night

Augusta State closed out the regular-season portion of its schedule with a 3-0 victory over UNC Pembroke on senior night at Christenberry Fieldhouse.

Mandy Irizarry had 18 kills and fellow senior Krystin Wahlig had 40 kills. Meredith Berce is the other senior on the Lady Jaguars, who won 25-14, 25-21 and 25-17.

Augusta State (18-14, 6-8 Peach Belt Conference) will next play in the conference tournament, which starts Nov. 16 in St. Augustine, Fla.

• In Aiken, Flagler handed USC Aiken a 3-1 defeat.

Flagler (19-9, 11-2 Peach Belt Conference) won 25-19, 23-25, 25-16 and 27-25.

Ashley Diedrich had 12 kills and Ashley Farwell 24 assists for the Lady Pacers (18-11, 7-6 PBC).

USC Aiken plays host to Armstrong Atlantic State at 2 p.m. today.


College Football

2011 Guy winner is a semifinalist

Louisiana Tech’s Ryan Allen is still in the running to be a repeat winner of the Ray Guy Award, which goes to the top punter in college football.

Allen, who won the award last year, is among the 10 semifinalists announced Friday by the Augusta Sports Council.

Three players from the Southeastern Conference – Louisiana State University’s Brian Wing, Florida’s Kyle Christy and Auburn’s Steven Clark – also made the cut.

The other semifinalists are Arizona State’s Josh Hubner, Ball State’s Scott Kovanda, UCLA’s Jeff Locke, Brigham Young’s Riley Stephenson, Iowa State’s Kirby Van Der Kamp and Marshall’s Tyler Williams.

The field will be reduced to three finalists on Nov. 19. The winner will be announced on Dec. 6.



Murray, Djokovic are in semifinals

In London, Andy Murray joined Novak Djokovic in the semifinals at the ATP finals.

The U.S. Open and Olympic champion beat Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 6-2, 7-6 (3) to reach Sunday’s semifinals, hours after Djokovic advanced by beating Tomas Berdych 6-2, 7-6 (6).

Murray (2-1) finished second in Group A, while Djokovic (3-0) was first.

In Group B, six-time champion Roger Federer has already qualified for the semifinals and will face Juan Martin del Potro in his final group match today.

David Ferrer is also in the group and can still qualify for the semifinals, while Janko Tipsarevic has been eliminated.



Tue, 02/20/2018 - 23:58

Tuesday’s prep box scores

Tue, 02/20/2018 - 23:59