Diebler ignites Buckeyes' rout

Jay Laprete/AP Photo
Ohio State's Jon Diebler made seven 3-pointers on Sunday to help the top-ranked Buckeyes blow out No. 10 Wisconsin.

COLUMBUS, Ohio --- Jon Diebler hit 7 of 8 shots behind the arc while scoring 27 points, leading top-ranked Ohio State to a 93-65 victory over No. 10 Wisconsin on Sunday.


Freshman Jared Sullinger added 22 points, William Buford had 18 and David Lighty 13 for the Buckeyes (29-2, 16-2 Big Ten), who got back at the Badgers (23-7, 13-5) for a painful loss a month ago.

After that defeat, Sullinger said a fan spit in his face and Wisconsin coach Bo Ryan added, "We won the game. Deal with it."

Ohio State hit 6 of 7 3-pointers Sunday while building a 15-point halftime lead -- and never let up.

The Buckeyes had clinched the outright Big Ten title a day earlier thanks to No. 6 Purdue's 67-65 upset loss at Iowa.

As the game ended, a capacity crowd chanted, "Deal with it. Deal with it."

Ohio State hit 14 of 15 3-pointers in the game and shot 68 percent from the field.


In Knoxville, Tenn., Brandon Knight scored 17 of his 19 points in the second half, and Kentucky beat Tennessee.

The Wildcats (22-8, 10-6 Southeastern Conference) finished second in the East to clinch a first-round bye for the tournament and earned only their second SEC road win of the season.

The Volunteers (18-13, 8-8) could have finished second in the East by beating Kentucky but dropped to fifth. This is their first season with eight home losses since 1994-95.

Terrence Jones had 15 points and 12 rebounds, and Darius Miller also scored 15.

Tobias Harris led Tennessee with 18 points.



In St. Louis, Aaron Carter scored 15 points and Indiana State held top seed Missouri State to 30.5 percent shooting in a victory in the Missouri Valley Conference Tournament final.

Jake Kelly hit two clinching free throws with 1.4 seconds to go for the third-seeded Sycamores (20-13), who earned their first NCAA Tournament berth since 2001.

Automatic bids

- Belmont, Atlantic Sun Conference

- Indiana State, Missouri Valley Conference

- Morehead State, Ohio Valley Conference

- UNC Asheville, Big South Conference