Clemson, South Carolina, Georgia Tech and Georgia Southern among field of 64 looking to get back to Omaha



Clemson coach Jack Leggett said it was a “sleepless night” as his team awaited its fate for the NCAA baseball tournament.

Leggett and his Tigers can rest easy. They’re in.

Clemson received an at-large bid to the tournament and will play in the Nashville Regional. The 64-team field was announced Monday.

“It was a little bit of a sleepness night because you just never know where things will fall,” Leggett said Monday. “The kids were kind of apprehensive about what was going on. So it was kind of a relief for them. Now we can concentrate on playing baseball.”

The Tigers (36-23), who will be making their 69th appearance in the NCAA Tournament, will be the No. 3 seed and open against second-seeded Oregon on Friday.

Vanderbilt is the No. 1 seed and will face No. 4 Xavier.

“They’re excited,” Leggett said of his players. “They’re a very competitive group and have been playing well lately. They deserve to be in it.”

South Carolina (42-16), which learned Sunday night that will be a regional host, will take on fourth-seeded Campbell on Friday. Joining the Gamecocks in the Columbia Regional are No. 2 seed Maryland and No. 3 Old Dominion.

“We are ecstatic to be hosting a regional in Carolina Stadium for the fifth straight year,” Gamecocks coach Chad Holbrook said after Sunday’s announcement. “I’m very proud of our players, coaches and staff and the work they have put forward to be in this position.”

Georgia Tech, the Atlantic Coast Conference Tournament champion, will play in the Oxford Regional. The third-seeded Yellow Jackets (36-25), making their 30th NCAA Tourna­ment appearance, will square off with No. 2 seed Washington on Friday. Top-seeded Mississippi will take on No. 4 Jacksonville State.

“I think it’s certainly a tough field,” Georgia Tech coach Danny Hall said. “I have some scouts that have come through here that have seen a lot of college games that have told me that Washington is really good, and this is a month a go. Ole Miss, they’ve been a perennial power in the SEC, and I know (they) have great fan support. I know it’s going to be a tough regional, as they all are.”

Georgia Southern (39-21) will head to the Tallahassee Regional after winning the Southern Conference Tournament title Sunday.

The Eagles, making their first trip to the tournament since 2011, will be the No. 4 seed and face Florida State on Friday. Alabama and Kennesaw State, which will be making its first tournament appearance, are also in the regional.

Oregon State is the No. 1 national seed.

The Pac-12 champion Beavers (42-12) edged out Southeastern Conference regular-season champion Florida (40-21) for the honor. The other six national seeds, in order, are: Virginia, Indiana, Florida State, Louisiana-Lafayette, Texas Christian and Louisiana State.

The tournament opens with 16 four-team, double-elimination regionals. Best-of-three super regionals will be held next week, with those winners moving to the College World Series in Omaha.

The SEC has 10 teams in the tournament, the most ever by a conference. The ACC is represented by seven schools, the Big 12 and Pac-12 by five apiece and the Big West by four.

Thirty-two of the 64 teams were in the field last year.

Miami is in the field for the 42nd consecutive year, extending its own record. Florida State is in for the 37th season in a row, second all-time.

Three teams with losing records are in after winning conference tournament titles. They are Youngstown State (16-36), Siena (25-31) and Bethune-Cookman (26-31).

UCLA (25-30-1) will not get a chance to defend its national title.

The Bruins were left out of the tournament for the first time since 2009 after finishing ninth in the Pac-12 in an injury-plagued season.

Oregon State starts the tournament Friday in Corvallis, Oregon, against Summit League champion North Dakota State. UC Irvine and UNLV also are in the Corvallis regional.