Bulldogs favored in SEC East

Georgia coach Mark Richt talks with reporters during the Southeastern Conference football Media Days.

 After the University of Georgia came up 5 yards short of beating the University of Alabama in the Southeastern Conference championship game, the media that cover the league are predicting the Bulldogs will get another shot against the Crimson Tide this season.


“Oh, yeah, that would be nice,” senior defensive end Garrison Smith. “At the same time, it doesn’t matter who we play. If we make it to that point, whether it’s Alabama or Ole Miss or LSU or Mississippi State, it doesn’t matter.”

Georgia is seeking its third straight trip to the title game and first SEC title since 2005. The Bulldogs lost 32-28 to Alabama in the title game last season.

“Georgia is definitely back on the map,” quarterback Aaron Murray said.

Two-time defending national champion Alabama was the overwhelming choice to win the SEC, getting 182 of 243 votes. Georgia garnered 38, University of South Carolina 18, Texas A&M 4 and Louisiana State University 1.

Georgia got 149 votes to win the SEC East, followed by 75 for South Carolina and 19 for the University of Florida.

I knew it was going to be us Florida or South Carolina,” said coach Mark Richt, coming off a 12-2 season. “I think it was a tough call this year in particular with those three teams. And you never know what Tennessee will rise up and do or really any team for that matter. It will be interesting to see.”

Nine Georgia players made the preseason All-SEC team as voted on by the media.

Tailback Todd Gurley and tight end Arthur Lynch were first-team picks.

Tailback Keith Marshall, offensive guard Chris Burnette, linebacker Jordan Jenkins and cornerback Damian Swann made the second team.

Quarterback Aaron Murray, Smith and receiver Malcolm Mitchell are third-team selections.



First Team

QB: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M (119)

RB: T.J. Yeldon, Alabama (221)

RB: Todd Gurley, Georgia (206)

WR: Amari Cooper, Alabama (194)

WR: Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt (106)

TE: Arthur Lynch, Georgia (148)

OL: Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama (193)

OL: Jake Matthews, Texas A&M (176)

OL: Anthony Steen, Alabama (109)

OL: Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State (88)

C: Travis Swanson, Arkansas (92)


Second Team

QB: AJ McCarron, Alabama (67)

RB: Tre Mason, Auburn (15)

RB: LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State (12)

RB: Keith Marshall, Georgia (12)

WR: Donte Moncrief, Ole Miss ( 46)

WR: Mike Evans, Texas A&M (33)

TE: Rory Anderson, South Carolina (33)

OL: Antonio Richardson, Tennessee (76)

OL: Jon Halapio, Florida (51)

OL: Chris Burnette, Georgia (50)

OL: Ja’Wuan James, Tennessee (50)

C: Reese Dismukes, Auburn (33)


Third Team

QB: Aaron Murray, Georgia (52)

RB: Matt Jones, Florida (5)

RB: Jeff Scott, Ole Miss (5)

RB: Alfred Blue, LSU (5)

WR: Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia (28)

WR: Jarvis Landry, LSU (19)

TE: Brian Vogler, Alabama (18)

OL: La’el Collins, LSU (37)

OL: Josh Williford, LSU (30)

OL: Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt (18)

OL: A.J. Cann, South Carolina (14)

OL: Zach Fulton, Tennessee (14)

C: James Stone, Tennessee (30)

C: Jonotthan Harrison, Florida (30)



First Team

DL: Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina (223)

DL: Dominique Easley, Florida (162)

DL: Anthony Johnson, LSU (127)

DL: Chris Smith, Arkansas (56)

LB: C.J. Mosley, Alabama (231)

LB: A.J. Johnson, Tennessee (107)

LB: Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (94)

DB: Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama (203)

DB: Craig Loston, LSU (135)

DB: Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida (117)

DB: Deion Belue, Alabama (77)


Second Team

DL: Xzavier Dickson, Alabama (49)

DL: Ed Stinson, Alabama (39)

DL: Dee Ford, Auburn (38)

DL: Jeoffrey Pagan, Alabama (31)

LB: Adrian Hubbard, Alabama (66)

LB: Jordan Jenkins, Georgia (64)

LB: Lamin Barrow, LSU (29)

DB: Damian Swann, Georgia (70)

DB: Andre Hal, Vanderbilt (69)

DB: Marcus Roberson, Florida (50)

DB: Vinnie Sunseri, Alabama (36)


Third Team

DL: Garrison Smith, Georgia (26)

DL: Daniel McCullers, Tennessee (23)

DL: Alvin Dupree, Kentucky (23)

DL: C.J. Johnson, Ole Miss (22)

LB: Ronald Powell, Florida (24)

LB: Tahj Jones, LSU (20)

LB: Trey DePriest, Alabama (16)

LB: Avery Williamson, Kentucky (16)

DB: E.J. Gaines, Missouri (34)

DB: Charles Sawyer, Ole Miss (25)

DB: Jalen Mills, LSU (22)

DB: Chris Davis , Auburn (20)



Sat, 12/16/2017 - 00:27

Friday’s prep box scores

Sat, 12/16/2017 - 00:03

Aiken thrives with team-first mentality