Simon Pagenaud wins collision-marred Grand Prix of Baltimore

Simon Pagenaud won the IndyCar race in Baltimore on Sunday. The race will likely be remembered, however, for another run-in between Will Power and Scott Dixon.

BALTIMORE — History will show that Simon Pagenaud won the Grand Prix of Baltimore.


The lasting image of Sunday’s race, however, will be Scott Dixon stuck in his car against the wall after another unfortunate run-in with rival Will Power.

Pagenaud charged to the lead after a series of collisions involving several other contenders on the bumpy, challenging street course that runs through the middle of the city.

None of those mishaps was more significant than the one involving Dixon and Power.

Last week at Sonoma, Dixon held the lead until he received a drive-through penalty with 15 laps to go for hitting a tire in the left hand of Power’s tire holder. Dixon won the race.

On Saturday, Power spun Dixon during practice. Then came Sunday, when the duo ran into each other again.

During a restart on the 53rd lap, Power swerved right in a crowd in front of Dixon while trying to pass Sebastien Bourdais. Power clipped the barrier, and Dixon ultimately lost control and smacked into the wall, ending his day.

Afterward, a distraught Power said, “I was just looking at Bourdais’ back. I had a good run on him and I was going to go off his inside. Dixon, obviously, had the same run on me. I feel bad. I just didn’t even think to look in my mirror. I was just trying to win the race, trying to beat Bourdais. I feel terrible. I’m just so sorry.”

Power made it to the pit but was given a penalty and finished 18th.


TRUCK SERIES: Chase Elliott wrecked Ty Dillon on the last lap Sunday to win the race at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.

Elliott, the 18-year-old son of Bill Elliott, plowed into Dillon on the final turn on the 2.459-mile road course to take the lead and went on to his first series victory.

Dillon dropped to 17th, the last car on the lead lap, in the series’ first race in Canada and first on a road course since 2000 at Watkins Glen.

Chad Hackenbracht was second, followed by Miguel Paludo, Darrell Wallace Jr., Ron Hornaday Jr., Max Papis, Ross Chastain, Timothy Peters, James Buescher and Matt Crafton.

Crafton leads the series standings, 47 points ahead of Buescher. Dillon is third, 63 points behind Crafton.