College Basketball

Paine men drop overtime contest

In Memphis, Tenn., Paine College couldn’t keep up with LeMoyne-Owen in overtime and lost a Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference game on Thursday night.

The Magicians outscored the Lions 14-9 in overtime to post a 76-71 victory.

James Devlin had 16 points to lead Paine (9-5, 8-4 SIAC).

Tashawn Byron had 23 points and Calvin Stoudamire had 14 points and 13 rebounds for LeMoyne-Owen (7-7, 7-5).

• In the women’s game, LeMoyne-Owen’s Jasmine Massey hit nine 3-point goals for 27 points to lead the Lady Magicians to a 79-77 victory over Paine.

Behind Massey, LeMoyne-Owen hit 12 of 20 3-point attempts. Paine hit 2 of 11.

Quandra Rodgers had 14 points to lead Paine (3-11, 3-7 SIAC).


High School Basketball

Avery tourney to debut on Jan. 28

The inaugural William Avery Invitational will be held Jan. 28 at Christenberry Fieldhouse and will feature some top boys teams from outside the area and a number of local teams.

According to a news release, the local teams will include Butler, Evans, Hephzibah, Fox Creek, and the Augusta Eagles.

There will be six games, starting at noon.



Talbert honored twice by group

Strom Thurmond High’s McKenzie Talbert has received two Carolinas Golf Association awards.

The 16-year-old junior heads up the association’s All-Carolina junior girls team. Talbert was named player of the year on the three-player team for the third consecutive year.

Talbert, who has verbally committed to play at Clemson, was also named the Richard S. Tufts Junior Girls Player of the Year.

Richard S. Tufts served on the CGA Executive Committee from 1926 to 1964 and served as President from 1931 through 1933.


College Football

Cowboys coach is Bryant winner

Oklahoma State coach Mike Gundy won the Paul “Bear” Bryant College Coach of the Year Award on Thursday night.

Gundy, whose Cowboys finished 12-1, beat out eight other finalists for the award, including Louisiana State University’s Les Miles.

Other finalists for the award were Wisconsin’s Bret Bielema, Art Briles of Baylor, Michigan’s Brady Hoke, Stanford’s David Shaw, Kansas State’s Bill Snyder, former Houston and current Texas A&M coach Kevin Sumlin and Clemson’s Dabo Swinney.

Alabama coach Nick Saban, whose team beat LSU for the national title, was among the original finalists announced Dec. 14, but he was removed from contention because a scheduling conflict left him unable to attend.

• Penn State trustees say they decided to oust Joe Paterno in part because the football coach didn’t meet a moral obligation to do more to alert authorities about a child sex abuse allegation against retired assistant coach Jerry Sandusky.

Trustees interviewed Thursday cited statements from Paterno in the days and hours leading to his dismissal Nov. 9 – after nearly a half-century of leading the Nittany Lions – that they felt challenged the Board of Trustees’ authority.

Board members saw that as inappropriate, particularly at a time of intense scrutiny over the case of former defensive coordinator Sandusky.