Players named to Border Bowl teams

The area’s best senior football players have been selected for the inaugural Border Bowl.


Players like Strom Thurmond’s dual threat quarterback Jauveer Hammond and Lincoln County running back Mike McIntire were among those selected for the South Carolina and Georgia teams.

The seniors-only game will be played at 1 p.m. on Saturday, Jan. 11, at Laney. It will be televised live by WJBF-News Channel 6 in partnership with The Augusta Chronicle.

The two 36-member team rosters were filled up by coaching nominations, which were received by South Carolina coach Dan Pippin and Georgia coach Jarrett Troxler and the Border Bowl committee.

Teams are expected to begin practicing on or after Dec. 27.

Proceeds from this year’s game will go to Ronald McDonald House.

Georgia Team:
Hunter BanksLakesideQB
Donquell GreenBurke CountyQB
Jalen LampkinWestsideQB
Tomarkus YoungWashington-WilkesRB
Mike McIntireLincoln CountyRB
Melvin HillWashington CountyRB
Car’Tabius QuartermanJefferson CountyRB
Mason McDanielHarlemWR
Forrest NanneyLakesideWR
Untorrey ThomasBurke CountyWR
Quay CummingsThomsonWR
Jermaine BaxleyBurke CountyWR
Earlmonquez CobbGlenn HillsWR
Jeff FoxAquinasOL
Derrick BrownRichmond AcademyOL
Darryl WareWashington-WilkesOL
Andy Ray WengrowLincoln CountyOL
Britt HeltonWashington CountyOL
Juwan GardnerBurke CountyOL
James HolmanLaneyOL
Chris EdwardsWashington CountyTE/H BACK
Jalen TurnerWashington-WilkesDB
Juwuan TolbertJoseyDB
LaDerrick HammondJefferson CountyDB
K’Lon LovettEvansDB
Felton HatcherThomsonDB
Antonio ClarkAquinasDB
DJ SandersWashington CountyLB
Daniel CottyLakesideLB
Stephon JacobsEvansLB
Willie YarbaryRichmond AcademyDL
Kendall WhiteLakesideDL
Jalen SmithLincoln CountyDL
Torrez WentzWarren CountyDL
Malcolm ThomasGreenbrierDL
Bryant WilsonBurke CountyDL
South Carolina Team:
Bo BaldwinSouth AikenQB
Jauveer HammondStrom ThurmondQB
Shaquez WrightSilver BluffRB
Adam AllenSouth AikenRB
Keyon WestNorth AugustaWR
Dre DunbarNorth AugustaWR
Trenton BaughmanMidland ValleyWR
Kendall HillStrom ThurmondWR
Malcolm StromanWagener-SalleyWR
Taylor HearnWilliston-ElkoOL
Blake WilliamsNorth AugustaOL
Noah CreechNorth AugustaOL
Maurice WilliamsNorth AugustaOL
James JacksSilver BluffOL
Rayshaun JohnsonStrom ThurmondOL
Clay PriceStrom ThurmondOL
Will HolbrookSouth AikenTE
Jaleel BryantNorth AugustaATH/LS
Nick CasaresSilver BluffP/K
Quindrell WilliamsAllendale-FairfaxDB
DJ YoungNorth AugustaDB
Luke SmithNorth AugustaDB
Jalen DouseSilver BluffDB
Deondre BaskettFox CreekDB
Dramel ColemanAikenDB
McKenzie WilsonSilver BluffLB
Ronald WilliamsNorth AugustaLB
Marcus MoodyBamberg-EhrhardtLB
Kenyatta DunbarStrom ThurmondLB
Nate BrightStrom ThurmondLB
Colton JohnsonNorth AugustaDL
Brandon ThomasNorth AugustaDL
Mike TaylorAllendale-FairfaxDL
Trevon ButlerAikenDL
Charles WilliamsBarnwellDL
RJ TylerWagener-SalleyDL


Sat, 12/16/2017 - 22:32


Sat, 12/16/2017 - 22:03

Area Announcements

Sat, 12/16/2017 - 22:05

Gymnastics team racks up awards

Sat, 12/16/2017 - 22:06

Braves deal Kemp back to Dodgers