PGA reveals season-opening schedule; Disney out

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla. — The PGA Tour’s event in Mexico will anchor a six-tournament opening schedule next fall that will not include Disney for the first time in more than 40 years.


The tour goes to a wraparound season next year and will offer FedEx Cup points for the six tournaments that kick off the 2013-14 season. That series will start with the Open at CordeValle Golf Club in northern California on Oct. 10-13 and conclude with the OHL Classic at Mayakoba in Mexico on Nov. 14-17.

After about a two-month break, the schedule will resume at Kapalua with the Tournament of Champions.

Disney has been part of the PGA Tour landscape since Jack Nicklaus won the inaugural event in 1971. That it was dropped from the new schedule was not a surprise. Dis­ney lost its title sponsor when the Chil­dren’s Miracle Network Hos­pitals did not renew, and Disney did not aggressively pursue a replacement.

“We’ve had a wonderful 40-year relationship with the tour,” Disney tournament spokesman Tony Morreale said Monday.

Mexico had been played opposite the Match Play Championship in February. It now moves to the end of the calendar year, hopeful of drawing a stronger field.

The fall portion of the schedule includes two tournaments in Asia. After the new season starts in California with the Open, it goes to Las Vegas the next week, then heads across the Pacific to the CIMB Classic in Malaysia and the HSBC Champions, a World
Golf Championship event in Shang­hai. For the first time, both Asia events will count as official tournaments.

Without taking a week off, the tour returns to North America for the McGladrey Classic on Nov. 7-10 at Sea Island, where Davis Love III will be the host, followed by the Mex­ico tournament.

All six tournaments will be broadcast by Golf Channel. The amount of prize money for each tournament was not announced.


Rory McIlroy won the Golf Writers Trophy for winning five times around the world and finishing the season as the
No. 1 player in golf.

McIlroy received almost half of all first-place votes from the British-based Association of Golf Writers on a ballot that included Europe’s winning Ryder Cup team, the Great Britain & Ireland Curtis Cup team and Roger Chapman for winning two senior majors this year.

– Associated Press